

PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

City Hall Council Chambers, 298 W. Washington Wednesday, September 15, 2021 at 5:30 PM

MINUTES

The Planning and Zoning Commission of the City of Stephenville, Texas, convened on September 15, 2021 at 5:30 PM, in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 298 West Washington Street, for the purpose of a Regular Business Meeting, with the meeting being open to the public and notice of said meeting, giving the date, time, place and subject thereof, having been posted as prescribed by Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated, with the following members present, to wit:

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Lisa LaTouche, Chairperson

Brian Lesley, Vice Chair

Bruce Delater Justin Allison Nick Robinson Todd McEvoy

Mary Beach McGuire - Alternate

Tom Hines -Alternate

COMMISSIONERS ABSENT: Cliff McCury

OTHERS ATTENDING: Steve Killen, Director of Development Services

Tina Cox, Commission Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson LaTouche called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

MINUTES

1. Consider Approval of Minutes -August 18, 2021

MOTION by Brian Lesley, second by Bruce Delater to approve the minutes for August 18, 2021. MOTION CARRIED by unanimous vote.

PUBLIC HEARINGS

2. Case No.: RZ2021-014

Applicant Joe Soto is requesting a rezone of the remaining portion of property located at 645 Mccart, Parcel R33258, of Shapard & Collins, Block 10, Lot 7, of the City of Stephenville, Erath County, Texas from (I) Industrial to (R-3) Multifamily.

Steve Killen, Director of Development Services, briefed the commission on the case. Mr. Killen stated that the applicant previously submitted a rezone application in 2017 which was subsequently approved by the Commission and City Council in the fall of 2017. In 2020, the applicant submitted an application for replat which was also approved by the Commission and City Council in May, 2020. Mr. Killen stated that the future land use is multi-family. Mr. Killen shared with the Commission that recent submittals for

the project led to the discovery that the replat removed an approximate 27 feet of the property known as 663 McCart and expanded the property known as 645 McCart. Consequently, 645 McCart now has a split zoning of Industrial and R-3, multifamily. Mr. Killen concluded his brief with stating that staff supports the rezone request.

Joe Soto was not present to answer any questions.

Chairperson LaTouche opened the public hearing.

No one came forward to speak in favor of or against the rezone request.

Chairperson LaTouche closed the public hearing.

MOTION by Brian Lesley, second by Nick Robinson, to approve Case No. RZ2021-014 and forward a positive recommendation to Council. MOTION CARRIED with a unanimous vote.

3. Discussion of Permitted Uses of the Zoning Code

Steve Killen, Director of Development Services, briefed the commission on the case. Mr. Killen stated that currently alcohol sales within the city is generally associated with restaurant, grocery, or convenience store operations. The list of permitted uses does not specify alcohol sales for any district and is silent when considering operations where alcohol sales is the primary retail product. On August 3, 2021, the Development Services Committee convened and by unanimous vote, recommended the permitted use of alcohol sales be added to the zoning districts of 8-1, 8-2, 8-3 and DT districts and refer to the Planning and Zoning Commission for public hearing.

Chairperson LaTouche opened the public hearing.

No one came forward to speak in favor of request.

Jim Kirby, 1234 CR 474, spoke against request.

Alan Nix, 113 Ben Hogan, spoke against request.

Chairperson LaTouche closed the public hearing.

MOTION by Bruce Delater, second by Mary Beach McGuire, to approve the addition of alcohol sales to the permitted uses in zoning districts B-2, B-3 and DT and forward a positive recommendation to Council. MOTION FAILED with the following votes:

Ayes: Bruce Delater and Lisa LaTouche

Noes: Tom Hines, Mary Beach McGuire, Brian Lesley, Nick Robinson and Todd McEvoy

Commission recognized that a DENIAL will be forwarded to Council under Section 154.20.2.K.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:04 p.m.
APPROVED:
/s/ Lisa LaTouche
Lisa LaTouche, Chair
Attest
/s/ Tina Cox
Tina Cox, Commission Secretary