

SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE AGENDA

October 15, 2024 at 4:30 PM

Mead Public Library, Public Conference Room 2, 710 N 8th Street, Sheboygan, WI

Persons with disabilities who need accommodations to attend this meeting should contact the Department of City Development, (920) 459-3377. Persons other than commission, committee, and board members who wish to participate remotely shall provide notice to the City Development Department at 920-459-3377 at least 24 hours before the meeting so that the person may be provided a remote link for that purpose.

OPENING OF MEETING

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

3. Approval of Minutes: July 10, 2024, August 14, 2024, and September 10, 2024

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- 4. Public Input (Limit 3 minutes per person)
- 5. Nominations and Elections of Vice Chair
- 6. Debrief on EV Fair
- 7. Review of Google Docs
- 8. Discussion on Committee Structure
- 9. Future meeting times and location
- 10. Upcoming Issues and Meetings
 - -Upcoming city capital investments Include links to city council minutes
 - -Sustainability plan/Comprehensive plan
 - -Kohler Golf Course
 - -Indian Mound Park
 - -Forestry grant
- 11. Review of other meetings attended by committee members

NEXT MEETING DATE

12. Next Meeting Date: TBD

ADJOURN

13. Motion to Adjourn

In compliance with Wisconsin's Open Meetings Law, this agenda was posted in the following locations more than 24 hours prior to the time of the meeting:

City Hall • Mead Public Library
Sheboygan County Administration Building • City's website

CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

Wednesday, June 12, 2024

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair James Van Akkeren, Cheryl Sohn, Chris Kuehnel, Mark Mahoney, Jeanne Kliejunas, Lora Hagen, and Rebecca Clarke

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jennifer Rutten, Rebecca Stewart, and Akshay Jain

OTHERS PRESENT: Dan Knoedler and Amy Peterson

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse

OPENING OF MEETING

Call to Order

Chair Jim van Akkeren called the meeting to order at 5:05 PM.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

2. Approval of Minutes: May 8, 2024

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FROM MAY 8, 2024.

Motion made by Chris Kuehnel, seconded by Jeanne Kliejunas. Motion carried.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- 4. Public Input (Limit 3 minutes per individual)
- 5. Working with Dylan Dettloff from the Mayor's Office
- 6. Sustainable Five Minutes
- 7. Urban Forestry Grant Status
- 8. Meeting day and location
- 9. Education and Outreach Community Report
- 10. Energy, Housing, Transportation, and Infrastructure Committee Report
- 11. Land Use and Conservation Committee Report
- 12. Rebecca Clarke update on zoning and ordinances regarding landscaping and invasive species
- 13. Heat Pump Infographic

Item 3.

14. Events of Interest: Walk on the Wild Side, June 29 at Maywood. In the Weeds Book Club, June 13 at Mead Public Library. Glacial Lakes Conservancy online auction end June 15. Midwest Energy Fair, June 22 at Custer WI.

NEXT MEETING DATE

15. Next Meeting Date: July 10, 2024

ADJOURN

16. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 5:16 PM.

Motion made by Chris Kuehnel, seconded by James van Akkeren. Motion carried.

CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

Wednesday, July 10, 2024

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair James Van Akkeren, Chris Kuehnel, Mark Mahoney, Lora Hagen, Akshay Jain, Rebecca Stewart, and Rebecca Clarke

MEMBERS ABSENT: Cheryl Sohn, Drew Philips, Jeanne Kliejunas, Jennifer Rutten, and Fern Lomibao

OTHERS PRESENT: Linda Shimon, Tracey Ludvik, and Amy Peterson

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Call to Order

Chair James van Akkeren called the meeting to order at 5:00PM

2. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

2. Approval of Minutes: June 12, 2024

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FROM JUNE 12, 2024.

Motion made by Rebecca Clarke, seconded by Lora Hagen. Motion carried.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- 4. Public Input (Limit 3 minutes per individual)
- 5. Introduction of New Members
- 6. Report from Dylan Detloff on Sustainability Plan

James van Akkeren gave a review of Dylan's work on a Sustainability Plan Draft due to Dylan being absent from the meeting.

- 7. Sustainable Five Minutes
- 8. Urban Forestry Grant Status

James van Akkeren gave an update on the status of the Urban Forestry Grant. The City is still waiting for confirmation on if it was awarded.

9. Meeting Day and Location

Discussion of potentially moving regular meeting date to 2^{nd} Tuesday of the month, meeting at City Hall. No final decision made at this time.

10. School District Sustainability Committee

James van Akkeren reported on the Sheboygan Area School District creating a Sustainability Committee including students, staff, and other community members.

- 11. City Budget
- 12. Education and Outreach Committee Report

James van Akkeren spoke on the planning meeting for the EV Expo scheduled for July 25th at Maywood.

- 13. Energy, Housing, Transportation, and Infrastructure Committee Report
- 14. Land Use and Conservation Committee Report

Rebecca Stewart spoke on moving meeting date. She also reported that she will be leaving in a year, and is requesting a new person to succeed her as Chair of the Land Use and Conservation Subcommittee.

- 15. Rebecca Clarke update on zoning and ordinances regarding landscaping and invasive species.
- 16. Heat pump infographic
- 17. Events of Interest: Fountain Park meeting, July 10, at 6:00, at Kiwanis Park: In the Weeds Book Club, July 11 and August 8, at 5:30, Mead Library; EV Road Trip, Sheboygan stop, August 9; Others?

NEXT MEETING DATE

18. Next Meeting Date: August 14, 2024

ADJOURN

19. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 5:41 PM.

Motion made by Chris Kuehnel, seconded by Rebecca Stewart. Motion carried.

CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

Wednesday, August 14, 2024

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair James Van Akkeren, Chris Kuehnel, Jeanne Kliejunas, Mark Mahoney, Lora Hagen, Cheryl Sohn, Drew Philips, and Fern Lomibao

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jennifer Rutten, Rebecca Clarke, Rebecca Stewart, and Akshay Jain

OTHERS PRESENT: Tracey Ludvik

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Call to Order

Chair James Van Akkeren called the meeting to order at 5:00PM.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

3. Education and Outreach Committee Report on EV Expo

Cheryl Sohn and James Van Akkeren spoke on the planning for the EV Expo at Maywood.

4. Discussion of Draft Sustainability Plan and possible action

Initial discussion of the Draft Sustainability Plan and reminder to submit individual comments regarding the plan to the Google form made by Dylan Dettloff.

NEXT MEETING DATE

5. Next Meeting Date: September 10, 2024

ADJOURN

6. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 6:00 PM.

Motion made by Chris Kuehnel, seconded by Drew Philips. Motion carried.