

BOARD OF POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSIONERS AGENDA

June 17, 2025 at 4:00 PM

City Hall - Conference Room 106, 828 Center Avenue, Sheboygan, WI

Persons with disabilities who need accommodations to attend the meeting should contact the Human Resources Department, 828 Center Ave, Sheboygan, at 920-459-3316.

OPENING OF MEETING

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Call to Order
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

- 4. Approval of Minutes
 - May 20, 2025 Regular Meeting
 - June 11, 2025 Special Meeting

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- 5. IHO process information
- 6. Establishing commission rules and regulations

CLOSED SESSION

- 7. Motion to convene in closed session under the exemption provided in Wisconsin State Statute §19.85(1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility:
- 8. Police Department personnel discussion
- 9. Fire Department personnel discussion

RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION

NEXT MEETING

10. Next scheduled meeting: June 30, 2025 at 4:00 P.M.

ADJOURN

11. Call to Adjourn

In compliance with Wisconsin's Open Meetings Law, this agenda was posted in the following locations more than 24 hours prior to the time of the meeting:

City Hall • Mead Public Library Sheboygan County Administration Building • City's website

CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

BOARD OF POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

Tuesday, May 20, 2025

MEMBERS PRESENT: Corrado Cirillo, Claudia Krepsky, Larry Samet, Ann Steenwyk

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Kristin Stearns

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Chief Kurt Zempel, Chief Eric Montellano, Mayor Ryan Sorenson, HR Director Kelly Hendee, HR Generalist Tatum Clayton

OPENING OF MEETING

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Call to Order

President Samet called the meeting to order at 4:05 P.M.

- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Swearing in of New Commissioner

Commissioner Claudia Krepsky was sworn in by Deputy City Clerk Melissa Clevenger.

MINUTES

5. Previous minutes for approval

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FROM APRIL 15, 2025. Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND CORRESPONDENCE

6. Public Comment

None.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

7. Election of commission officers

PRESIDENT NOMINATION LARRY SAMET

MOTION TO CLOSE AND CAST BALLOTS Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

SECRETARY NOMINATION CLAUDIA KREPSKY

MOTION TO CLOSE AND CAST BALLOTS Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

8. Discuss IHO process

HR Director Kelly Hendee proposed implementing an Independent Hearing Officer (IHO) that the Commission may choose to utilize for hearings on a case by case basis. Director Hendee will arrange for the Commission to meet with the IHO for more information.

9. Motion to modify bylaws

Postponed.

10. Discuss June 2025 Police candidate interviews

A Special meeting has been scheduled for June 11, 2025 at 5:30 P.M. to accommodate for two interviews for the position of police officer.

11. Review of discipline procedure document

Document will be further reviewed with the IHO at a later meeting.

CLOSED SESSION

12. Motion to convene in closed session under the exemption provided in Wisconsin State Statute §19.85(1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility:

> MOTION TO CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

- 13. Fire Department personnel discussion
- 14. Police Department personnel discussion
- 15. Police Department candidate interview(s) for the position of police officer

RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION

MOTION TO RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

16. Action related to Police Department candidate interview(s) for the position of police officer

MOTION TO ADD TO SHEBOYGAN POLICE DEPARTMENT HIRING POOL FOR ONE CALENDAR YEAR: Julio Cerda Adrian Vatsana-Howeg Nathan Hornburg Ethan Hocevar Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

NEXT MEETING

17. Next scheduled meeting: June 11, 2025, at 5:30 P.M.

ADJOURN

18. President Samet adjourned the meeting at 7:35 P.M.

No further business.

CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

SPECIAL BOARD OF POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

Wednesday, June 11, 2025

MEMBERS PRESENT: Corrado Cirillo, Claudia Krepsky, Larry Samet, Ann Steenwyk

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Kristin Stearns

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Police Chief Kurt Zempel, HR Generalist Tatum Clayton

OPENING OF MEETING

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Call to Order

President Samet called the meeting to order at 5:32 P.M.

3. Pledge of Allegiance

CLOSED SESSION

4. Motion to convene in closed session under the exemption provided in Wisconsin State Statute §19.85(1(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility:

MOTION TO CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION Motion made by Steenwyk, Seconded by Cirillo. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

- 5. Police Department personnel update
- 6. Police Department candidate interview(s) for the position of police officer
- 7. Police Department Promotion Discussion

RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION

MOTION TO CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION Motion made by Steenwyk, Seconded by Cirillo. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

8. Action related to Police Department candidate interview(s) for the position of police officer

MOTION TO ADD TO SHEBOYGAN POLICE DEPATMENT HIRING POOL:

Amber Burns Blake McClain

Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

9. Action Related to Police Department promotion

MOTION TO PROMOTE TO POLICE SERGEANT: Dekker McCabe

Motion made by Cirillo, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Krepsky, Samet, Steenwyk.

NEXT MEETING

10. Next scheduled meeting: June 17, 2025 at 4:00 P.M.

ADJOURN

11. President Samet adjourned the meeting at 6:37 P.M.

No further business.