CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

FIRST REGULAR COMMON COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, April 16, 2024

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Roll Call

Alderpersons present: Belanger, Dekker, Felde, La Fave, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust – 8. Alderperson excused: Peterson – 1.

2. Presentation of the National Colors

Sheboygan Police Department Honor Guard

3. Pledge of Allegiance

4. Invocation

Father William Bulson, Grace Episcopal Church

5. Land Recognition

Brett Labello, Sheboygan County Museum

6. Swearing in of Alderpersons Elect

City Clerk Meredith DeBruin administered the Oath of Office to Alderpersons: District 2 John Belanger, District 4 Robert La Fave, District 6 Dean Dekker and District 8 Zachary Rust.

7. Adopting the rules of the Common Council

MOTION TO ADOPT

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust.

Voting Yea: Dekker, Felde, Mitchell, Perrella Ramey, Rust, Belanger, La Fave – 8.

8. Election of President and Vice-President of the Common Council

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by CLOSED BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Rust nominated Dean Dekker, Ramey seconded the nomination.

Motion to postpone the votes for leadership indefinitely until all districts have fair representation.

Motion make by Mitchell, Seconded by Belanger.

City Attorney stated that according to Municipal Code, leadership will be elected at the first organization meeting of the council which occurs on the third Tuesday of April.

Belanger nominated Trey Mitchell, Mitchell seconded the nomination.

Motion by Rust, seconded by Ramey to close nominations.

City Clerk DeBruin and City Attorney Adams distributed ballots and tallied the votes.

Dean Dekker was named the President of the 2024-2025 Council.

ELECTION OF VICE PRESIDENT OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by CLOSED BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Dekker nominated Zachary Rust, Ramey seconded the nomination.

Mitchell nominated John Belanger, Belanger seconded the nomination.

Motion by Ramey, seconded by Rust to close nominations.

City Clerk DeBruin and City Attorney Adams distributed ballots and tallied the votes.

Zachary Rust was named the Vice President of the 2024-2025 Council.

9. Election of Representative on City Plan Commission and two Representatives on Capital Improvements Commission

ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVE ON THE CITY PLAN COMMISSION

Motion by Dekker, seconded by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Mitchell nominated John Belanger, Belanger seconded the nomination.

No other nominations were motioned.

Motion by Dekker, second by Rust to close the nominations and direct the City Clerk to cast a unanimous ballot for John Belanger as the Representative on the City Plan Commission. All ayes.

ELECTION OF TWO (2) REPRESENTATIVES ON THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS COMMISSION Motion by Dekker, second by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than three candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Dekker nominated Grazia Perrella, Rust seconded the nomination.

Mitchell nominated Zachary Rust, Ramey seconded the nomination.

No other nominations were motioned.

Motion by Rust, second by Dekker to close the nominations and direct the City Clerk to cast unanimous ballots for Grazia Perrella and Zachary Rust as Representatives on the Capital Improvements Commission. All ayes.

10. Recess to elect Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole

President Dean Dekker presided over the election for Chairman of the Committee of the Whole.

Motion by Rust, second by Ramey that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Rust nominated Grazia Perrella, Ramey seconded the nomination.

Motion by Rust, second by La Fave to close nominations and direct the City Clerk to cast unanimous ballot for Grazia Perrella as Chairperson for Committee of the Whole.

11. Reconvene

12. Report by Council President on election of the Committee of the Whole Chairperson

Dekker announced Grazia Perrella as the Committee of the Whole Chairperson

13. President of the Common Council message

President Dean Dekker spoke.

14. Public Forum

Limit of five people having five minutes each with comments limited to items on this agenda. No one spoke.

15. Mayor's Announcements

Upcoming Community Events, Proclamations, Employee Recognitions

MAYOR'S APPOINTMENTS

16. Mayor's Appointments – Lays over.

MATTERS LAID OVER

17. Res. No. 206-23-24 by Alderpersons Dekker and Mitchell authorizing the appropriate City officials to execute an engagement letter with Quarles & Brady LLP to serve as bond counsel with regard to Taxable Water System Revenue Bonds.

MOTION TO ADOPT THE RESOLUTION

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Mitchell.

Voting Yea: Dekker, Felde, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Belanger, La Fave – 8.

18. Res. No. 207-23-24 by Alderpersons Dekker and Mitchell authorizing the appropriate City officials to execute the Engagement Letter with Landretti & Company, LLC relating to appraisal review services regarding three appraisals in the pending Wal-Mart Real Estate Business Trust assessment appeal litigation.

MOTION TO ADOPT THE RESOLUTION

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Mitchell.

Voting Yea: Dekker, Felde, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Belanger, La Fave − 8.

19. Res. No. 208-23-24 by Alderpersons Dekker and Mitchell authorizing the appropriate City officials to execute a conflict waiver letter prepared by von Briesen & Roper, s.c. regarding representation of the City of Sheboygan and Inspired Holdings LLC.

MOTION TO ADOPT THE RESOLUTION

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Mitchell.

Voting Yea: Dekker, Felde, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Belanger, La Fave – 8.

20. Res. No. 209-23-24 by Alderpersons Dekker and Mitchell authorizing the City Attorney's Office to settle the matter of *State of Wisconsin v. City of Sheboygan*, Case Nos. 2023FO000099, 2023FO000100, 2023FO000101, 2023FO000105, and 2023FO000159.

MOTION TO ADOPT THE RESOLUTION

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Mitchell.

Voting Yea: Dekker, Felde, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Belanger, La Fave – 8.

21. Res. No. 210-23-24 by Alderpersons Dekker and Mitchell authorizing the purchase of 636 Wisconsin Avenue from Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. for future use by the City.

MOTION TO ADOPT THE RESOLUTION

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Mitchell.

Voting Yea: Dekker, Felde, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Belanger, La Fave – 8.

ADJOURN MEETING

22. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 6:38 PM

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust.

Voting Yea: Dekker, Felde, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Belanger, La Fave – 8.