CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

Tuesday, September 10, 2024

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair James Van Akkeren, Chris Kuehnel, Jeanne Kliejunas, Mark Mahoney, Lora Hagen, Cheryl Sohn, Drew Philips, Fern Lomibao, Rebecca Clarke, Rebecca Stewart, and Akshay Jain

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jeanne Kliejunas and Jennifer Rutten

OTHERS PRESENT: Linda Shimon and Jayne Black

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse

OPENING OF MEETING

Call to Order

Chair James Van Akkeren called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

2. Approval of Minutes: July 10, 2024 and August 14, 2024

MOTION TO MOVE APPROVAL OF MINUTES FOR JULY 10, 2024 AND AUGUST 14, 2024 TO NEXT MEETING

Motion made by Chris Kuehnel, seconded by Rebecca Stewart. Motion carried.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

3. Public Input (Limit 3 minutes per person)

Linda Shimon spoke regarding her communications with Alderpersons Grazia Perella and John Belanger about the City implementing incentives for green practices in housing developments.

5. Zoom meeting with Jayne Black of Moms Clean Air Force and DePere Sustainability Commission regarding Edgewater Power Plant. https://www.momscleanairforce.org

Field Organizer for Moms Clean Air Force Jayne Black spoke regarding the extension of the Edgewater Power Plant, and a planned press conference scheduled for September 24, 2024. She requested a member of the Sustainable Sheboygan Task Force to be a speaker at this event.

- 6. Update on City of Sheboygan Sustainability Plan
- 7. Urban Forestry Grant Status

James Van Akkeren reported that the Grant was awarded to the City for stump removal and replanting trees in disadvantaged parts of the City.

8. Meeting Location

New location discussed for next meeting, using the Municipal Service Building was inquired as an option.

9. Education and Outreach Committee Report, including report on EV Expo and Presentation to Council

Discussion of EV Expo volunteering at Maywood. Rebecca Clarke reported on an update to the City landscaping ordinance to encourage species diversity and native plantings.

- 10. Energy, Housing, Transportation, and Infrastructure Committee Report
- 11. Land Use and Conservation Report
- 12. Future Committee Structure
- Election of New Chairperson. Nominations will be taken from the Floor
 Chair James Van Akkeren opened the floor to nominations.
 MOTION TO NOMINATE REBECCA CLARKE AS CHAIRPERSON.
 Motion made by Chris Kuehnel, seconded by Rebecca Stewart. Motion carried.
- 14. Events of Interest

NEXT MEETING DATE

15. Next Meeting Date: October 8, 2024

ADJOURN

16. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 5:37 PM.

Motion made by Rebecca Clarke, seconded by Rebecca Stewart. Motion carried.