CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

BOARD OF POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

Tuesday, June 17, 2025

MEMBERS PRESENT: Corrado Cirillo, Larry Samet, Kristin Stearns, Ann Steenwyk

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Claudia Krepsky

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Fire Chief Eric Motellano, Police Chief Kurt Zempel, City Administrator Casey Bradley, HR Director Kelly Hendee, Attorney Eric Hagen, HR Generalist Tatum Clayton

OPENING OF MEETING

- Roll Call
- 2. Call to Order

President Samet called the meeting to order at 4:06 P.M.

3. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

- 4. Approval of Minutes
 - May 20, 2025 Regular Meeting
 - June 11, 2025 Special Meeting

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FROM MAY 20, 2025 AND JUNE 11, 2025.

Motion made by Steenwyk, Seconded by Cirillo.

Voting Yea: Cirillo, Samet, Steenwyk.

Abstaining: Stearns.

5. IHO process information

Attorney Hagen explained the Independent Hearing Officer role and how IHOs can assist Police and Fire Commissions during a hearing process. The PFC is able to determine when they would like to call upon an IHO to assist them. The IHO would go through the evidentiary portion on behalf of the commission and would synthesize and present information from the hearing to the PFC for their decision.

6. Establishing commission rules and regulations

Attorney Hagen generally explained the roles of rules and regulations for PFCs. There was discussion regarding residency requirements for non-rep personnel and job descriptions with Attorney Hagen.

The PFC requested that the Fire Chief, Police Chief, City Administrator, and HR Director review a sample rules and regulations document provided by Attorney Hagen and make recommendations and suggestions to the PFC at the August 2025 regular meeting.

CLOSED SESSION

7. Motion to convene in closed session under the exemption provided in Wisconsin State Statute §19.85(1 (c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility:

MOTION TO CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION Motion made by Stearns, Seconded by Cirillo. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Samet, Stearns, Steenwyk.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Cirillo, Samet, Stearns, Steenwyk

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Krepsky

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Chief Montellano, Chief Zempel, Administrator Bradley, Director Hendee, Attorney Hagen, Clayton

- 8. Police Department personnel discussion
- 9. Fire Department personnel discussion

RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION

MOTION TO RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION Motion made by Stearns, Seconded by Cirillo. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Samet, Stearns, Steenwyk.

10. Next scheduled meeting: June 30, 2025 at 4:00 P.M.

ADJOURN

11. Call to Adjourn

President Samet adjourned the meeting at 5:06 P.M.

No further business.