## **CITY OF SHEBOYGAN**

# SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

### Monday, November 14, 2022

#### **OPENING OF MEETING**

MEMBERS PRESENT: James Van Akkeren, Rebecca Clarke, Lora Hagen, Jennifer Rutten, William Campos, Kelsey

Bird, Jeanne Kliejunas, Chris Kuehnel

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Mayor Ryan Sorenson, Chad Pelishek, Rachel Masse

PUBLIC PRESENT: Cheryl Sohn and Dan Kyde

### **OPENING OF MEETING**

1. Call to Order

Mayor Ryan Sorenson called the meeting to order.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

### ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

#### 3. Introductions

Mayor Ryan Sorenson introduced himself and discussed the purpose of the committee. The rest of the committee introduced themselves and their interest in sustainability.

4. Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Motion by Rebecca Clarke, second by Lora Hagen to nominate James Van Akkeren as Chair of the Sustainable Sheboygan Task Force. Motion carried.

Motion by William Campos, second by James Van Akkeren to nominate Rebecca Clarke as Vice Chair of the Sustainable Sheboygan Task Force. Motion carried.

5. Review 2021 Green Tier Report

Chad Pelishek discussed the Green Tier Communities Charter and becoming part of that charter.

6. Review Sustainability Plan Adopted 2015

Chad Pelishek discussed the Sustainability Plan adopted in 2015. He suggested the committee should work on updating that plan.

7. Priorities Moving Forward

James Van Akkeren asked why the previous committee disbanded. Chad Pelishek explained that the board was too large and most action items were placed on City departments to complete instead of the committee. Mayor Sorenson explained that the committee has been re-established because opportunities are being missed and there needs to be more people involved.

Mayor Sorenson explained that the committee is advisory to City Council.

Chad Pelishek explained that the City does not have a full time grant writer and grant writing is absorbed by City departments where the grant fits.

# **NEXT MEETING DATE**

8. Next Meeting Date: December 12, 2022

## **ADJOURN**

9. Motion to Adjourn

Motion by James Van Akkeren, second by Kelsey Bird. Motion carried.

Being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:49 p.m.