CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

BOARD OF POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

Tuesday, April 15, 2025

MEMBERS PRESENT: Corrado Cirillo, Jerry Jones, Larry Samet, Kristin Stearns, and Ann Steenwyk

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Ann Steenwyk (left prior to Fire interviews)

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Chief Kurt Zempel, Chief Eric Montellano, Assistant Chief Mike Lubbert, and HR Generalist Tatum Clayton

OPENING OF MEETING

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Call to Order

President Samet called the meeting to order at 4:04 P.M.

3. Pledge of Allegiance

MINUTES

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FROM:

Meeting held on March 11, 2025 Meeting held on March 18, 2025

Motion made by Stearns, Seconded by Steenwyk. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Jones, Samet, Stearns, and Steenwyk.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND CORRESPONDENCE

4. Public Comment

None.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

5. Police Department Goals and Benchmarks

Chief Zempel discussed the police department's annual goals and benchmarks. Commission requested an annual update from Chief Zempel going forward.

CLOSED SESSION

6. Motion to convene in closed session under the exemption provided in Wisconsin State Statute §19.85(1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility: Motion made by Steenwyk, Seconded by Jones. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Jones, Samet, Stearns, and Steenwyk.

- 7. Fire Department personnel discussion
- 8. Fire Department candidate interview(s) for the position of firefighter/paramedic

RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION

MOTION TO RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION Motion made by Jones, Seconded by Cirillo.

Voting Yea: Cirillo, Jones, Samet, Stearns.

Excused: Steenwyk

9. Action related to Fire Department candidate interview(s) for the position of firefighter/paramedic

MOTION TO ADD TO SHEBOYGAN FIRE DEPARTMENT HIRING POOL FOR ONE CALENDAR YEAR:

Nicholas Kelley Antonia Kotansky Austin Kramer McKenna Schulz John Steinhardt

Motion made by Stearns, Seconded by Cirillo. Voting Yea: Cirillo, Jones, Samet, and Stearns.

NEXT MEETING

10. Next scheduled meeting: May 20, 2025 at 5:00 P.M.

ADJOURN

11. Motion to Adjourn

No further business.