CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

BOARD OF MARINA, PARKS & FORESTRY MINUTES

Tuesday, May 07, 2024

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair Peter Mayer, Mike Froh, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

COMMISSION MEMBERS UNEXCUSED: Sheila Yang, and Terry Van Akkren.

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Mayor Ryan Sorenson, Public Works Consultant Aaron Groh, City Forester Tim Bull, Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse, and Maywood Environmental Park Director Kendra Kelling.

OTHERS PRESENT: John Powers, Eric Katte, Bryan Kelly, Mike Kamyszek, Mark Reidelbach, and Jon Dolson.

OTHERS PRESENT: OPENING OF MEETING

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Public Input (3 minute limit per individual)

MINUTES

5. Approval of Minutes: February 6, 2024

MOTION TO AMEND MINUTE FROM FEBRUARY 6, 2024, OTHERS PRESENT TO CORRECT SPELLING ON FRANK RIBICH, TERRY VAN AKKREN, AND MICHAEL TOCK.

Motion made by Mike Froh, seconded by Peter Mayer.

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Mike Froh, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FROM FEBRUARY 6, 2024 AS AMENDED.

Motion made by Dean Dekker, seconded by Peter Mayer.

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Mike Froh, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

6. Election of Officers, Chair, and Vice Chair

MOTION TO NOMINATE PETER MAYER AS CHAIR

Motion made by Marilyn Montemayor, seconded by Dean Dekker.

Voting Yea: Mike Froh, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

MOTION TO ELECT PETER MAYER AS CHAIR

Motion made by Marilyn Montemayor, seconded by Dean Dekker.

Voting Yea: Mike Froh, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

MOTION TO NOMINATE MIKE FROH AS VICE CHAIR

Motion made by Marilyn Montemayor, seconded by Dean Dekker.

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

MOTION TO ELECT MIKE FROH AS VICE CHAIR

Motion made by Marilyn Montemayor, seconded by Dean Dekker.

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

7. Deland Park/Harbor Center Marina Master Plan Discussion

Joe Kerlin and Aaron Groh reported on the discussion.

8. Vollrath Park - No Parking Signage

MOTION TO RECOMMEND LIMITING PARKING AT VOLLRATH PARK

Motion made by Dennis Wield, seconded by Mike Froh.

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Mike Froh, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

9. Vollrath Park - Proposed New Disc Golf Holes

MOTION TO PROPOSE ADDING TWO NEW DISC GOLF HOLES TO VOLLRATH PARK

Motion made by Marilyn Montemayor, seconded by Dean Dekker..

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Mike Froh, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.

10. Marina Report (N. Warminsky)

Aaron Groh spoke on Marina report due to Nick Warminsky being absent.

11. Maywood Report (K. Kelling)

Kendra Kelling spoke on Maywood report.

12. Park and Forestry Report (J. Kerlin, T. Bull)

Joe Kerlin and Tim Bull spoke on the Park and Forestry report. John Powers reported on the Sheboygan Biergarten.

NEXT MEETING DATE

13. Next regular meeting date: August 6, 2024

ADJOURN

14. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 6:00PM

Motion made by Rebecca Clarke, seconded by Marilyn Montemayor.

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Mike Froh, Dean Dekker, Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Rebecca Clarke and Dennis Wield.