CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

BOARD OF MARINA, PARKS & FORESTRY MINUTES

Tuesday, May 02, 2023

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair Mike Froh, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, Peter Mayer, and Vice Chair Dennis Wield.

COMMISSION MEMBERS EXCUSED: John Koehler and Sheila Yang.

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: City Forester Tim Bull, Harbor Center Admin and Retail Manager Rachel Kerlin, Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse, and Sergeant Timothy Patton.

OTHERS PRESENT: Miriam Headrick and Joe Heidemann.

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Call to Order

Chair Mike Froh called the meeting to order at 4:15 PM.

- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

4. Public Input (3 minute limit per individual)

Joe Heidemann spoke in reference to the proposed pet ordinance change.

MINUTES

5. Approval of Minutes: February 7, 2023

MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM FEBRUARY 7, 2023 Motion made by Marilyn Montemayor, seconded by Mike Froh. Voting Yea: Chair Mike Froh, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, Peter Mayer, and Vice Chair Dennis Wield.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

6. Election of Officers, Chair and Vice Chair.

MOTION TO NOMINATE MIKE FROH AS CHAIR Motion made by Dennis Wield, seconded by Marge Mattern. Voting Yea: Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, Peter Mayer, and Vice Chair Dennis Wield. MOTION TO ELECT MIKE FROH AS CHAIR

Motion made by Marilyn Montemayor, seconded by Alderperson Dean Dekker. Voting Yea: Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, Peter Mayer, and Vice Chair Dennis Wield.

MOTION TO NOMINATE DENNIS WIELD AS VICE-CHAIR

Motion made by Alderperson Dean Dekker, seconded by Marilyn Montemayor. Voting Yea: Chair Mike Froh, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, and Peter Mayer.

MOTION TO ELECT DENNIS WIELD AS VICE-CHAIR

Motion made by Alderperson Dean Dekker, seconded by Marilyn Montemayor. Voting Yea: Chair Mike Froh, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, and Peter Mayer.

7. Marina Report (R. Kerlin)

Rachel Kerlin discussed the report.

8. Proposed ordinance change Sec. 18-15 Pets prohibited in parks and on public grounds except in designated areas; regulations.

MOTION TO RECOMMEND PROPOSED CHANGE AS PRESENTED Motion made by Rebecca Clarke, seconded by Alderperson Dean Dekker. Voting Yea: Chair Mike Froh, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, Peter Mayer, and Vice Chair Dennis Wield.

9. Review and possibly recommend for approval of new 2023 updated CORP plan.

Joe Kerlin discussed the 2023 updated CORP plan.

10. Maywood Report (D. Kuckuk)

Joe Kerlin discussed the report.

11. Park and Forestry Report (J. Kerlin, T. Bull)

Tim Bull discussed the report.

NEXT MEETING DATE

12. Next regular meeting date: August 1, 2023

ADJOURN

13. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 5:32 PM

Motion made by Marge Mattern, seconded by Rebecca Clarke.

Voting Yea: Chair Mike Froh, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Superintendent of Parks and Forestry Joe Kerlin, Marilyn Montemayor, Marge Mattern, Peter Mayer, and Vice Chair Dennis Wield.