CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS MINUTES

Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Members Present: Keeli Johnson, Tad Tjapkes, Ed Surek and Markus Savaglio

Members Excused: Richard Linde, Kevin Sampson and Sala Sander

Staff/Officials Present: Associate Planner Ellise Rose and Building Inspection Specialist Linnae Wierus

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Call to Order

Keeli Johnson called the meeting to order at 3:12 pm.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge is recited.

3. Identify potential conflicts of interest

No committee member had a conflict of interest.

MINUTES

4. Approval of the Board of Appeals minutes from May 15, 2024

MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING HELD ON MAY 15, 2024.

Motion made by Tad Tjapkes, seconded by Ed Surek

Voting Yea: Keeli Johnson, Tad Tjapkes, Ed Surek and Markus Savaglio

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

5. Variance application by Miguel Morales requesting to construct a 6-foot-high privacy fence within their required street-yard setback of 25 feet located at 233 Lincoln Avenue.

MOTION TO APPROVE WITH THE FOLLOWING CONDITION

Motion made by Markus Savaglio, seconded by Tad Tjapkes

Voting Yea: Keeli Johnson, Tad Tjapkes, Ed Surek and Markus Savaglio

- 1. Fencing should be vinyl or shadow box style
- Variance application by David and Kathleen Dana requesting to expand their driveway located at 2113 N 28th Street.

MOTION TO APPROVE WITH THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS

Motion made by Markus Savaglio, seconded by Ed Surek

Voting Yea: Keeli Johnson, Tad Tjapkes, Ed Surek and Markus Savaglio

- 1. 4-inch curb required along the north side of the driveway addition
- 2. Driveway to be pitched properly towards the street and not cause drainage issues for the neighboring property

7. Variance application by Julia Dumez requesting to pave and expand a legally nonconforming driveway at 2412 N 6th Street.

MOTION TO APPROVE AS PRESENTED.

Motion by Markus Savaglio, seconded by Tad Tjapkes

Voting Yea: Keeli Johnson, Tad Tjapkes, Ed Surek and Markus Savaglio

NEXT MEETING

8. Next scheduled meeting date on July 17, 2024.

The next meeting is scheduled on July 17, 2024

ADJOURN

9. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 3:44 PM.

Motion by Markus Savaglio, seconded by Tad Tjapkes

Voting Yea: Keeli Johnson, Tad Tjapkes, Ed Surek and Markus Savaglio