CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

FIRST REGULAR COMMON COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, April 18, 2023

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Roll Call

Alderpersons present: Ackley, Dekker, Felde, Filicky-Peneski, Heidemann, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, and Salazar – 10.

2. Presentation of the National Colors

Sheboygan Police Department Honor Guard

3. Pledge of Allegiance

4. Invocation

Julia Hollister, First Congregational Church

5. Land Recognition

Travis Gross, Sheboygan County Historical Society

6. Swearing in of Alderpersons Elect

City Clerk DeBruin administered the Oath of Office to Alderpersons District 1 Barb Felde, District 3 Amanda Salazar, District 5 Angela Ramey, District 7 Grazia Perrella, District 9 Trey K Mitchell

7. Swearing in of City Attorney

Judge Torry administered the Oath of Office to City Attorney Charles Adams

8. Swearing in of City Clerk

Judge Torry administered the Oath of Office to City Clerk Meredith DeBruin

9. Swearing in of Multi-Jurisdictional Judge

City Clerk DeBruin administered the Oath of Office to Multi-Jurisdictional Judge Natasha Torry

10. Adopting the rules of the Common Council

(No changes from 2022-2023)

MOTION TO ADOPT THE RULES

Motion made by Felde, Seconded by Filicky-Peneski.

Voting Yea: Ackley, Dekker, Felde, Filicky-Peneski, Heidemann, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Salazar – 10.

11. Election of President and Vice-President of the Common Council

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

Motion made by Felde, Seconded by Filicky-Peneski that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by CLOSED BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Heidemann nominated Trey Mitchell, Felde seconded the nomination.

Rust nominated Dean Dekker, Perrella seconded the nomination.

Motion by Rust, seconded by Perrella to close nominations.

City Clerk DeBruin and City Attorney Adams distributed ballots and tallied the votes.

Dean Dekker was named the President of the 2023-2024 Council.

ELECTION OF VICE PRESIDENT OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

Motion made by Felde, Seconded by Filicky-Peneski that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by CLOSED BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Perrella nominated Amanda Salazar, Ramey seconded the nomination.

Heidemann nominated Trey Mitchell, Mitchell seconded the nomination.

Motion by Felde, seconded by Filicky-Peneski to close nominations.

City Clerk DeBruin and City Attorney Adams distributed ballots and tallied the votes.

Amanda Salazar was named the Vice President of the 2023-2024 Council.

12. Election of Representative on City Plan Commission and two Representatives on Capital Improvements Commission

ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVE ON THE CITY PLAN COMMISSION

Motion by Felde, seconded by Filicky-Peneski that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Dekker nominated Trey Mitchell, Salazar seconded the nomination.

No other nominations were motioned.

Motion by Felde, second by Filicky-Peneski to close the nominations and direct the City Clerk to cast a unanimous ballot for Trey Mitchell as the Representative on the City Plan Commission. All ayes.

ELECTION OF TWO (2) REPRESENTATIVES ON THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS COMMISSION Motion by Felde, second by Filicky-Peneski that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than three candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Salazar nominated Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Dekker seconded the nomination.

Salazar nominated Barb Felde, Dekker seconded the nomination.

No other nominations were motioned.

Motion by Felde, second by Filicky-Peneski to close the nominations and direct the City Clerk to cast unanimous ballots for Roberta Filicky-Peneski and Barb Felde as Representatives on the Capital Improvements Commission. All ayes.

13. Recess to elect Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole

President Dean Dekker presided over the election for Chairman of the Committee of the Whole.

Motion by Salazar, second by Ramey that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Ramey nominated Zach Rust, Ackley seconded the nomination.

Mitchell nominated Joe Heidemann, Heidemann seconded the nomination.

Motion by Salazar, second by Ramey to close nominations.

City Clerk DeBruin and City Attorney Adams distributed ballots and tallied the votes.

Zach Rust was named the Committee of the Whole Chairperson of the 2023-2024 Council.

14. Reconvene

15. Report by Council President on election of the Committee of the Whole Chairperson

Dekker announced Zach Rust as the Committee of the Whole Chairperson

16. President of the Common Council message

Dean Dekker spoke.

17. Mayor's message

Mayor Ryan Sorenson spoke.

18. Public Forum

Limit of five people having five minutes each with comments limited to items on this agenda. No one spoke.

MAYOR'S APPOINTMENTS

19. Mayor's Appointments

Mayor Ryan Sorenson distributed a list of appointments. Lays over.

ADJOURN MEETING

20. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 6:36 PM

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Salazar.

Voting Yea: Ackley, Dekker, Felde, Filicky-Peneski, Heidemann, Mitchell, Perrella, Ramey, Rust, Salazar – 10.