CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

BOARD OF MARINA, PARKS & FORESTRY MINUTES

Tuesday, May 06, 2025

COMMISION MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair Peter Mayer, Alderperson Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Don Martens, Brandon Schmidt, Terry Van Akkren, Sheila Yang, Dennis Wield, and Parks Manger Joe Kerlin

STAFF/OFFICALS PRESENT: City Forester Tim Bull, Maywood Environmental Park Director Kendra Kelling, Harbor Center General Manager Nick Warminsky, Lieutenant Andrew Kundinger, and Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse

OTHERS PRESENT: Bryan Kelly, Alex Garner, Susie Boorse, Joe Heidemann, and Asher Heimermann

OPENING OF MEETING

- 1. Call to Order
 - Chair Peter Mayer called the meeting to order at 4:15PM.
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Public Input (3 minute limit per individual)

MINUTES

5. Approval of Minutes: February 4, 2025

MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM FEBRUARY 4, 2025 Motion made by Terry Van Akkren, seconded by Dean Dekker Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Don Martens, Brandon Schmidt, Terry Van Akkren, Sheila Yang, Dennis Wield, and Joe Kerlin

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

Election of officers, Chair and Vice Chair

MOTION TO ELECT PETER MAYER AS CHAIR.

Motion made by Dean Dekker, seconded by Terry Van Akkren

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Don Martens, Brandon Schmidt, Terry Van Akkren, Sheila Yang, Dennis Wield, and Joe Kerlin

MOTION TO ELECT Terry Van Akkren as Vice-Chair

Motion made by Brandon Schmidt, seconded by Dean Dekker

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Don Martens, Brandon Schmidt, Terry Van Akkren, Sheila Yang, Dennis Wield, and Joe Kerlin

Marina discussion - long term solutions for winter boat storage

Peter Mayer spoke on the challenges and potential solutions for winter boat storage at the Marina.

RFP Discussion - Opperation of disc golf concession for Vollrath Park

Joe Kerlin spoke on the status of the disc golf concession RFP for Vollrath Park

RFP Discussion - Operation of Beer Garden

Joe Kerlin spoke on the communication with John Powers regarding the decision not to renew the agreement to run the Beer Garden. He also spoke on the status of the RFP for the Beer Garden.

10. Marina Report (N. Warminsky)

Nick Warminsky spoke on the report

11. Maywood Report (K. Kelling)

Kendra Kelling spoke on the report

12. Forestry Report (T. Bull)

Tim Bull spoke on the report

13. Park Report (J. Kerlin)

Joe Kerlin spoke on the report

NEXT MEETING DATE

14. Next regular meeting date: August 5, 2025

ADJOURN

15. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 5:33PM

Motion made by Dean Dekker, seconded by Terry Van Akkren

Voting Yea: Peter Mayer, Dean Dekker, Rebecca Clarke, Don Martens, Brandon Schmidt, Terry Van

Akkren, Sheila Yang, Dennis Wield, and Joe Kerlin