CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

Monday, June 12, 2023

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair James Van Akkeren, Cheryl Sohn, Chris Kuehnel, David Gladis, Geralyn Leannah, Jeanne Kliejunas, Lora Hagen, and Rebecca Stewart.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jennifer Rutten, Kelsey Bird, and Rebecca Clarke.

STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Mayor Ryan Sorenson and Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse.

OTHERS PRESENT: Michael Aprill, Dana Yedica, and Kelsey Piontkowski.

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Call to Order

Chair James Van Akkeren called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

3. Public Input (3 minute limit per individual)

No public input.

MINUTES

4. Approval of Minutes: May 8, 2023

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FROM MAY 8, 2023 Motion made by Rebecca Stewart, seconded by Jeanne Kliejunas. Motion carried.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

5. Presentation by Renewable Redwings.

Michael Aprill spoke to the Task Force.

6. Presentation by North High School Environmental Club.

Dana Yedica and Kelsey Piontkowski spoke to the Task Force.

7. Report by Land Use and Conservation Committee. Discussion of possible action items for the committee.

Rebecca Stewart discussed the report.

8. Report by Energy, Housing, Infrastructure, and Transportation Committee. Discussion of possible action items for the committee.

David Gladis discussed the report.

9. Vision Statement review. Possible action on revision of Statement.

MOTION TO CHANGE THE TITLE TO SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN. Motion made by Geralyn Leannah, seconded by Rebecca Stewart. Motion carried.

10. July 10th Meeting at Mead Public Library. Format discussion. Possible action on format. Preparation for the meeting.

Discussion on preparations and format for presentation.

11. Report on Strategic Plan Input.

James Van Akkeren discussed the report.

- 12. 2024 budget process. Sustainable Sheboygan Task Force input.
- 13. Upcoming Events.

NEXT MEETING DATE

14. Next Meeting Date: July 10, 2023

ADJOURN

15. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 6:02 PM. Motion made by Rebecca Stewart, seconded by David Gladis. Motion carried.