

# **CITY COUNCIL WORKSHOP**

Monday, January 29, 2024 at 5:30 PM City Council Chambers | 202 N. Virginia Street, Port Lavaca TX 77979

## **MINUTES**

STATE OF TEXAS§COUNTY OF CALHOUN§CITY OF PORT LAVACA§

On this the 29<sup>th</sup> day of January, 2024, the City Council of the City of Port Lavaca, Texas, convened in a Workshop Session at 5:30 p.m. at the regular meeting place in Council Chambers at City Hall, 202 North Virginia Street, Port Lavaca, Texas, with the following members in attendance:

### I. ROLL CALL

Jack Whitlow	Mayor
Daniel Aguirre	Councilman, District 1
Tim Dent	Councilman, District 2
Allen Tippit	Councilman, District 3
Jim Ward	Councilman, District 5
Ken Barr*	Councilman, District 6

\*Ken Barr, Councilman, District 6 arrived at 5:57 p.m.

And with the following absent:

Rosie G. Padron Councilwoman, District 4, Mayor Pro Tem

Constituting a quorum for the transaction of business, at which time the following business was transacted:

### WORKSHOP SESSION

### II. CALL TO ORDER

• Mayor Whitlow called the meeting to order at 5:38 p.m. and presided.

### III. COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC

(Limited to 3 minutes per individual unless permission to speak longer is received in advance. You may make public comments as you would at a meeting by logging on with your computer and using "Join Zoom Meeting" information on first page of this agenda).

• Mayor Whitlow asked for comments from the public and there were none.

**IV. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION** - Council will discuss the following items).

### 1. Discuss Economic Development Incentive Policy. Presenter is Jody Weaver

Council discussed this agenda item.

No action necessary and none taken.

### V. ADJOURN WORKSHOP

Mayor Whitlow asked for motion to adjourn.

Motion made by Councilman District 5 Ward

Seconded by Councilman District 2 Dent

Voting Yea:

Councilman District 1 Aguirre, Councilman District 2 Dent, Councilman District 3 Tippit, Councilman District 5 Ward, Councilman District 6 Barr

Workshop adjourned at 7:17 p.m.

These minutes were approved on February 12, 2024.

ATTEST:

Mandy Grant, City Secretary

Jack Whitlow, Mayor