

PORT COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

Tuesday, June 07, 2022, at 10:00 AM City Council Chambers | 202 N. Virginia Street, Port Lavaca TX 77979

MINUTES

STATE OF TEXAS §
COUNTY OF CALHOUN §
CITY OF PORT LAVACA §

On this the 7th day of June 2022, the Port Commission of the City of Port Lavaca, Texas, convened in regular session at 10:13 a.m. in the regular meeting place in City Council Chambers at City Hall, 202 North Virginia Street, Port Lavaca, Texas, with the following Commissioners in attendance:

ROLL CALL:

Alex Davila Chairman

David Roberts Commissioner

Mike McGuire Commissioner

Sue Traylor Commissioner

Mickael Kovarek Commissioner

Larry Nichols Commissioner

And with the following Commissioner(s) absent:

Jamie O'Neil Commissioner

CALL TO ORDER:

Chairman Davila called the meeting to order and presided at 10:13 a.m.

COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC - Limited to 3 minutes per individual unless permission to speak longer is received in advance. You may make public comments as you would at a meeting on Zoom by logging on with your computer and/or smart phone as described in the zoom invitation below or on Facebook Live through the comment section, which will be monitored and answered. As appropriate.

• No Comments from the Public.

CONSENT AGENDA

1. <u>ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE TO RE-APPOINTED COMMISSIONER.</u>

Commissioner Sue Traylor was re-appointed as a Port Commission Member.

2. <u>DISCUSS AND REVIEW NAUTICAL LANDINGS MARINA BOAT SLIP LEASES</u> AND RATES: PRESENTER JIM RUDELLAT

- o N/L MARINA SLIP RATES 2021-2022
- o \$6.30 Dollars per linear foot of dock space per month
- o \$52.50 Dollars for 110v. 30-amp electrical connection per month
- o \$105.00 Dollars for 220v. 50-amp electrical connection per month

Motion made by Commissioner Traylor

NOW THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED BY THE PORT COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF PORT LAVACA, TEXAS:

THAT in accordance with recommendation of staff, Port Commission maintain the current Nautical Landings Marina Boat Slip Leases and Rates.

Seconded by Commissioner Kovarek

Motion passed by the following vote:

Voting Aye:

Alex Davila, David Roberts, Sue Traylor, Mickael Kovarek, Larry Nichols.

Voting Nay: Mike McGuire

3. <u>DISCUSS AND REVIEW 5-YEAR CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PLAN: PRESENTER</u> JODY WEAVER

CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PLAN	2020/21		2021/22	2022/23	2023/24	2024/25	2025/26
TARGET TOTAL FOR CIP projects using reserves	\$371,030 for CIP +	92,000 (already incoded in the \$717,000 in CIP) =	\$ 463,030				
PORT REVENUE							

Nautical Landings		2020/21	ACTUAL Spent/encumbered to date		Remaining		2021/22		2022/23	2023/24		2024/25		2025/26
TPWL Breakwater Match	\$	125,000	\$	*	\$	125,000	\$	42,000						
Facelift to Building and replace doors	\$	80,000	\$	11,365	\$	68,635		carry over						
Parking Lot Improvements							\$	110,000						
Dredge NL Marina												\$	80,000	
Smith Harbor	T	2020/21							2022/23	202	23/24		2024/25	2025/26
Dredging of Smith Harbor	\$	450,000	\$	345,500	\$	104,500								
Hire Consultant to develop Master Plan	\$	50,000	\$		\$	50,000		carry over						
improvements Smith Harbor							\$	110,000						
Improvements to Smith Harbor									375000	\$	375,000			
City Harbor		2020/21							2022/23	202	3/24		2024/25	2025/26
Construct new bulkhead near Scully's/finger pier improvements	\$	180,000												
Replace Lower Dock (N.I.C. portion for FEMA reimbursement)	\$	360,000	\$	234,361	2014.58									
Repairs to Evelyn's Seafood Dock						9						\$	220,000	
Harbor of Refuge		2020/21				9.	Sector	2021/22	2022/23	202	3/24		2024/25	2025/26
Shoreline Protection along east side of Tracts 16, 17, 17A							\$	200,000						Le maria
Bulkhead at Harbor of Refuge														
Total Port Revenue Fund Reserve	es \$	1,245,000					\$	462,000	\$ 375,000	\$	375,000	5	300,000	\$

Motion made by Commissioner Nichols

NOW THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED BY THE PORT COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF PORT LAVACA, TEXAS:

THAT Chairman Davila appointed Urban Engineering to prepare a scope of work for the front parking lot and sidewalk for Nautical Landings Building.

Seconded by Commissioner Roberts

Motion passed by the following vote:

Voting Aye:

Alex Davila, David Roberts, Mike McGuire, Sue Traylor, Mickael Kovarek, Larry Nichols.

Voting Nay: None

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Roberts made a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Commissioner McGuire seconded this motion.

Motion passed by the following vote:

Voting Aye:

Alex Davila, David Roberts, Mike McGuire, Sue Traylor, Jamie O'Neil, Larry Nichols

Voting Nay: None

Meeting adjourned at 10:57 a.m.

These minutes were approved on June 21, 2022

ATTEST:

Alex Davila, Chairman

Rachel Garza, Admin. Assistant