

Petersburg Borough

Meeting Minutes Planning Commission Regular Meeting

Tuesday, July 11, 2023 12:00 PM Assembly Chambers

1. Call to Order

Commission Chair Chris Fry called the meeting to order at 12:05pm

2. Roll Call

PRESENT

Commission Chair Chris Fry Commission Vice-Chair Heather O'Neil Commission Secretary Sally Dwyer Commissioner Jim Floyd Commissioner John Jensen Commissioner Marietta Davis

Commissioner Phillip Meeks

3. Acceptance of Agenda

The agenda was unanimously approved.

Motion made by Commissioner Jensen, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner Meeks

4. Approval of Minutes

The June 13, 2023 meeting minutes were unanimously approved.

Motion made by Commissioner Jensen, Seconded by Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner Meeks

A. Meeting Minutes 6.13.2023

5. Public Comments

None

6. Consent Calendar

None

7. Public Hearing Items

A. Consideration of an application from Tamara McKeown for a conditional use permit for a temporary trailer for construction at 567 Mitkof Highway (PID: 01-116-200).

Robert Larson spoke on his own behalf speaking of having an interim check point prior to the two years.

Motion made by Commissioner Jensen, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Discussion.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner Meeks

B. Consideration of an application from Chris Kegans, Samai Kegans, and Melisa Kegans for vacation of a section line easement and a public access easement and review of alternate public access at 808-812 Mitkof Highway (PID: 01-174-225 and 01-174-220).

Chris Kegans spoke on his own behalf giving information about the property.

Dave Thynes spoke as the surveyor giving more information on the easement and where beachfront water lines are.

Beverly Richardson spoke on her own behalf asking a question regarding the section line.

Motion made by Commission Secretary Dwyer, Seconded by Commissioner Jensen.

Discussion.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner Meeks

C. Consideration of an application from Dave Ohmer for a minor subdivision at 531-535 Mitkof Highway (PID: 01-115-200 and 01-115-250).

Dave Ohmer spoke on his own behalf speaking about his application to consolidate lots.

Motion made by Commissioner Jensen, Seconded by Commissioner Floyd.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner Meeks

D. Consideration of a recommendation to the Borough Assembly regarding an application from Wikan Enterprises to purchase borough property at 103 A Dock Street (PID: 01-010-037).

Sherri Wikan spoke on behalf of Wikan Enterprises giving information to support the sale of 103 A Dock Street.

Hillary MacDonald spoke on her and Earl Warner's behalf in support of the sale of 103 A Dock Street.

Motion made by Commissioner Jensen, Seconded by Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil.

Discussion.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner Meeks

8. Non-Agenda Items

A. Commissioner Comments

Commissioner Jim Floyd spoke about hearing criticism from the community after the last meeting and wanted to remind the community that the Commissioners are citizens and volunteers.

Commissioner Sally Dwyer spoke in regard to last meeting and not having enough funding details regarding PMC to make a good decision.

Commission Chair Chris Fry thanked the Fire Department for all their hard work.

B. Staff Comments

None

C. Next Meeting is August 8, 2023, at 12:00pm.

9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 12:38pm

Motion made by Commissioner Davis, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner Meeks