



Petersburg Borough

Meeting Minutes Planning Commission Regular Meeting

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

12:00 PM

Assembly Chambers

You are invited to a Zoom meeting.

When: February 14, 2023 12:00 PM Alaska

Topic: February 14, 2023 Regular Planning Commission Meeting

Please click the link below to join the webinar:

https://petersburgak-

gov.zoom.us/j/96232354380?pwd=UkU0b1JiaHl5SGQ4OU1ISzNaZTdCZz09

Meeting ID: 962 3235 4380

Passcode: 289401

Or Telephone:

(253) 215 8782 US (Tacoma) or (720) 707 2699 US (Denver)

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 12:00pm.

2. Roll Call

PRESENT

Commission Chair Chris Fry

Commission Vice-Chair Heather O'Neil

Commission Secretary Sally Dwyer

Commissioner Jim Floyd

Commissioner John Jensen

Commissioner Marietta Davis

ABSENT

Commissioner Phillip Meeks

3. Acceptance of Agenda

The agenda was accepted as presented.

Motion made by Commissioner Jensen, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis

4. Approval of Minutes

The meeting minutes from January 10th meeting were approved as presented.

Motion made by Commissioner Jensen, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis

A. Meeting minutes from January 10, 2023

5. Public Comments

Public comments are welcome on matters not appearing on the Public Hearing or Consent Calendar but are within the Borough's jurisdiction. Persons wishing to speak should come forward and state their name and address. Issues raised may be referred to staff and, if action by the Commission is needed, may be scheduled for a future meeting.

None

6. Consent Calendar

None

7. Public Hearing Items

Commissioner Davis made the motion to approve, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Commissioner O'Neil asked about the dimensions are on the house and on the garage. Commissioner Dwyer asked about the entry to the garage - on the road or at an angle. Gerry Frostad answered that the entry to the garage would be parallel to the road so that no cars would be blocking the highway. Knut Frostad answered that the garage would be 24'x30' and the house dimensions are 62'x27'. Utility Director Karl Hagerman requests that the two curb stop valve boxes not be covered during construction. Mr. Frostad said the eaves would be 3' back from the easement. Discussion.

Commissioner Floyd made the amendment that they approve the application with the following conditions; that the construction does not cover the curb stop valve boxes, does not interfer with existing power lines and that the eaves stay within 4' of the front property line and if the eaves are to go along the side of the road, that snow stops be installed.

	Discussion.		
	Am	Amendment: Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis. As amended:	
	As		
		ting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission Secretary yer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis	
	A.	Frostad Variance App.	
8.	Non-Agenda Items		
	A.	Commissioner Comments	
		Commissioner Floyd stated he has an application scheduled for the March meeting so is recusing himself from that item.	
	B.	Staff Comments	
		Director Cabrera spoke on the topic brought up earlier on measurement requirements of applications and asked the Commission for direction with future applications and getting the measurement requirements, stating that it could potentially cause delays for the applicant and there could be some kickback. Discussion. Cabrera stated that she will hold future applications until measurements are supplied, as required and as directed by the Commission.	
	C.	Next Meeting will be on Tuesday, March 14th, 2023 at 12:00pm noon.	
9.	Adjournment		
	The meeting was adjourned at 12:22pm.		
	Мо	Motion made by Commission Secretary Dwyer, Seconded by Commissioner Jensen.	
	Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commission Vice-Chair O'Neil, Commission S Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Jensen, Commissioner Davis		
C	omn	nission Chair, Chris Fry Date	