



Petersburg Borough

Meeting Minutes Planning Commission Regular Meeting

Tuesday, April 09, 2024 12:00 PM Assembly Chambers

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 12:01PM.

2. Roll Call

PRESENT

Commission Chair Chris Fry

Commissioner Heather O'Neil Commission Secretary Sally Dwyer Commissioner Jim Floyd Commissioner Phillip Meeks

ABSENT

Commission Vice-Chair John Jensen Commissioner Marietta Davis

3. Acceptance of Agenda

The agenda was accepted as presented.

Motion made by Commission Secretary Dwyer, Seconded by Commissioner O'Neil. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

4. Approval of Minutes

The March 12, 2024, meeting minutes were unanimously approved.

Motion made by Commission Secretary Dwyer, Seconded by Commissioner O'Neil. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

A. March 12, 2024 Meeting Minutes

5. Public Comments

Public comments are welcome on matters not appearing on the Public Hearing or Consent Calendar but are within the Borough's jurisdiction. Persons wishing to speak should come forward and state their name and address. Issues raised may be referred to staff and, if action by the Commission is needed, may be scheduled for a future meeting.

None

6. Consent Calendar

None

7. Public Hearing Items

A. Consideration of a rezone from Rural Residential to Single-family Residential at 1016 and 1020 Sandy Beach Rd. (PID: 01-014-010, 01-014-700).

Agenda item Tabled.

Motion made by Commissioner Floyd, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

B. Consideration of an application from Marissa Collison for a conditional use permit for a home occupation at 104 Lewis Lane (PID: 01-003-272).

Motion made by Commissioner O'Neil, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Commission Chair Fry spoke to say he thought this was pretty straight forward.

Commissioner Floyd spoke to say he didn't anticipate a lot of traffic or need for a lot of parking.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

C. Consideration of an application from Sandy Beach Holdings LLC for preliminary approval of a major subdivision at 410 Sandy Beach Rd (PID: 01-003-275).

Dave Thynes spoke as the surveyor for this project and made himself available for any questions.

Commissioner Meeks spoke asking if there was any spec on having the right size culvert to handle the creek on the property.

Liz Cabrara responded to say when the applicant submits plans to Public Works for the development of the road, they would have an engineer look at it and recommend a culvert size.

Motion made by Commissioner O'Neil, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Commissioner Meeks spoke to say if an individual builds to the back of the lot. The creek could run underneath the pad. He asked if there were any stipulations about creeks running underneath pads or homes.

Liz Cabrera spoke to say when the Borough is going to issue a building permit, the building official would talk to the property owner about drainage but there isn't anything specific in the code about drainage, it just says allow for drainage.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

D. Consideration of an application from Brian and Aleksandra Richards for a replat of Lots 3A & 8A, Block 30, USS 1252 located at 203 Lumber St/13 E Lansing St. (PID: 01-007-737, 01-007-738).

Motion made by Commissioner Floyd, Seconded by Commissioner O'Neil.

Commission Chair Fry spoke and said this looks straight forward and there are a couple of sheds on the property line that they were trying fix by this replat.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

E. Consideration of an application from Harold Medalen for a replat of a portion of Block 57 and Lots T-113 thru T119 of ATS 9 located at 110 S Nordic Dr (PID: 01-007-540, 541, 542, 549, 550,551, 552, 553,554, 555,556,557).

Motion made by Commissioner Floyd, Seconded by Commission Secretary Dwyer.

Discussion regarding fire code and distance between the home on 5A and 118A.

Dave Thynes spoke as the surveyor to say Mr. Medalen would like to eliminate the property line between 5A and 118A if the fire code isn't waived, leaving lots 5A and 118A as one, if that satisfies the requirements.

Commissioner O'Neil made a motion to amend the original motion to not subdivide lots 5A and 118A, leave these two lots as one and keep the rest of the replat the same. Seconded by Commissioner Floyd.

Joe Bertagnoli gave his comment regarding fire code and not to waive on safety. There is no grandfathered in and if a new lot line is put in, you measure to the property line. Right now, the buildings are over 9 feet apart.

The amendment passes unanimously.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

The original motion passes unanimously.

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks

8. Non-Agenda Items

A. Commissioner Comments

None

B. Staff Comments

Community Development Director Liz Cabrera commented on the two public hearing items that were withdrawn during last meeting. Alaska Mental Health Trust Land Office, Mitkof Hwy property Lots 24C and 25C to dedicate as public right-of-way.

Discussion between Liz the Commissioners and Dave Thynes, surveyor who has worked with the Kegans for 3 years to resolve this.

C. Next Meeting is May 14, 2024, at 12:00PM.

Liz Cabrera said there may not be agenda items for the next meeting.

9. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:38pm.

Motion made by Commission Secretary Dwyer, Seconded by Commissioner Floyd. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Fry, Commissioner O'Neil, Commission Secretary Dwyer, Commissioner Floyd, Commissioner Meeks