# PUTNAM COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS



# 117 Putnam Drive, Suite A ◊ Eatonton, GA 31024

# Called Meeting Minutes Wednesday, January 29, 2025 ◊ 10:00 AM

Putnam County Administration Building – Room 204

The Putnam County Board of Commissioners met for a called meeting on Wednesday, January 29, 2025 at approximately 10:00 AM in the Putnam County Administration Building, 117 Putnam Drive, Room 204, Eatonton, Georgia.

#### **PRESENT**

Chairman Bill Sharp Commissioner Tom McElhenney Commissioner Richard Garrett Commissioner Steve Hersey Commissioner Jeff Wooten

#### STAFF PRESENT

County Attorney Adam Nelson County Manager Paul Van Haute County Clerk Lynn Butterworth Deputy County Clerk Mercy Fluker

## **Opening**

1	$C_{0}$ 11	to	Order

Chairman Sharp called the meeting to order at approximately 10:00 a.m. (Copy of agenda made a part of the minutes on minute book page \_\_\_\_\_\_\_.)

## 2. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve the Agenda.

Motion made by Commissioner Hersey, Seconded by Commissioner McElhenney. Voting Yea: Commissioner McElhenney, Commissioner Garrett, Commissioner Hersey, Commissioner Wooten

## 3. Pledge of Allegiance (staff)

County Manager Van Haute led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Called Meeting Minutes	Page <b>1</b> of <b>3</b>	Approved
January 29, 2025		February 7, 2025

## **Called Meeting**

4. Authorization for the Chairman to sign Resolution Authorizing Participation in the ACCG - Interlocal Risk Management Agency Supplemental Medical, Accident, and Disability Fund: First Responder PTSD Program (staff-HR)

Motion to authorize the Chairman to sign the Resolution Authorizing Participation in the ACCG – Interlocal Risk Management Agency Supplemental Medical, Accident, and Disability Fund: First Responder PTSD Program.

Motion made by Commissioner Hersey, Seconded by Commissioner Wooten.

Voting Yea: Commissioner McElhenney, Commissioner Garrett, Commissioner Hersey, Commissioner Wooten

(Copy of resolution made a part of the minutes on minute book page	to
)	

5. Appointments to the Planning & Zoning Commission (staff-CC/P&D) Chairman Sharp announced that appointments would be effective February 7, 2025 and that new members must attend training before being eligible to vote; training will be held in February.

Commissioner McElhenney, seconded by Commissioner Hersey, nominated William Cooper Rainey, Jr. for appointment to the District One seat on the Planning & Zoning Commission. Chairman Sharp called for the vote. Commissioner McElhenney voted for William Cooper Rainey, Jr. Commissioner Garrett voted for William Cooper Rainey, Jr. Commissioner Hersey voted for William Cooper Rainey, Jr. Commissioner Wooten voted for William Cooper Rainey, Jr.

Commissioner Garrett, seconded by Commissioner Hersey, nominated David L. Erickson for appointment to the District Two seat on the Planning & Zoning Commission.

Chairman Sharp called for the vote. Commissioner McElhenney voted for David L. Erickson. Commissioner Garrett voted for David L. Erickson. Commissioner Hersey voted for David L. Erickson. Commissioner Wooten voted for David L. Erickson.

Commissioner Hersey, seconded by Commissioner Garrett, nominated Harold Jones for appointment to the District Three seat on the Planning & Zoning Commission. Commissioner Wooten, seconded by Commissioner McElhenney, nominated Nicholas Marine for appointment to the District Three seat on the Planning & Zoning Commission. Commissioner Garrett, seconded by Commissioner McElhenney, nominated William Vargo for appointment to the District Three seat on the Planning & Zoning Commission.

Chairman Sharp called for the vote. Commissioner McElhenney voted for Nicholas Marine. Commissioner Garrett voted for William Vargo. Commissioner Hersey voted for Harold Jones. Commissioner Wooten voted for Nicholas Marine.

Chairman Sharp called for the second round of voting due to no majority vote. Commissioner McElhenney voted for Nicholas Marine. Commissioner Garrett voted for Harold Jones. Commissioner Hersey voted for Harold Jones. Commissioner Wooten voted for Nicholas Marine. Chairman Sharp voted for Harold Jones.

Called Meeting Minutes	Page <b>2</b> of <b>3</b>	Approved
January 29, 2025		February 7, 2025

Commissioner Wooten, seconded by Commissioner Garrett, nominated Shad Atkinson for appointment to the District Four seat on the Planning & Zoning Commission.

Chairman Sharp called for the vote. Commissioner McElhenney voted for Shad Atkinson. Commissioner Garrett voted for Shad Atkinson. Commissioner Hersey voted for Shad Atkinson. Commissioner Wooten voted for Shad Atkinson.

Commissioner Wooten, seconded by Commissioner McElhenney, nominated Charles Gray for appointment as the Chairman on the Planning & Zoning Commission.

Chairman Sharp called for the vote. Commissioner McElhenney voted for Charles Gray. Commissioner Garrett voted for Charles Gray. Commissioner Hersey voted for Charles Gray. Commissioner Wooten voted for Charles Gray.

#### **Closing**

6. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion made by Commissioner Wooten, Seconded by Commissioner Hersey.

Voting Yea: Commissioner McElhenney, Commissioner Garrett, Commissioner Hersey, Commissioner Wooten

Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:15 a.m.

ATTEST:

Lynn Butterworth County Clerk B. W. "Bill" Sharp Chairman

Called Meeting Minutes	Page 3 of 3	Approved
January 29, 2025		February 7, 2025