MINUTES PARADISE TOWN COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING – 6:00 PM – February 24, 2015

1. OPENING

The 6:00 p.m. February 24, 2015 special meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm by Mayor Greg Bolin in the Council chamber at 5555 Skyway, Paradise, California who led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

PRESENT: Steve "Woody" Culleton, Jody Jones, Scott Lotter, John J. Rawlings and Greg Bolin, Mayor.

COUNCIL MEMBERS ABSENT: None.

<u>STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:</u> Town Clerk Gutierrez, Town Manager Gill, Town Attorney Moore, IT Manager Marquis, Finance Director Gill and Human Resources Manager Peters.

2. COUNCIL CONSIDERATION - ACTION CALENDAR

Mayor Bolin announced that the purpose of the special meeting is to review the recommendation of the Measure C Oversight Selection Committee, conduct wrap-up dialogues with the twelve finalists, select and appoint nine applicants to form the Measure C Citizen Oversight Committee, and, appoint the remaining three finalists to serve as alternates for the term of the committee.

Vice Mayor Jones and Council Member Lotter informed the Town Council that a total of fifty citizens had applied for a position on the Measure C Citizen Committee. Vice Mayor Jones and Council Member Lotter both stated that were very pleased with the caliber and enthusiasm of the twenty applicants that they interviewed February 6 and February 11, and that they were pleased to bring forward the final twelve applicants for the rest of the Council to meet.

Each applicant came forward to the podium to give Council a brief personal introduction and to answer any questions from the Council Members. Vice Mayor Jones and Council Member Lotter stated their preference for committee appointees with alternates being Dan Hansen, Stacey Poliquin and Sharon Simonton. Member Culleton stated that he thinks the recommendation is heavily weighted with public safety personnel, that he would like to nominate Dan Hansen as a member and Linda Dye to serve as an alternate.

Council Member Rawlings stated that he was not happy with the process of a subcommittee recommending the applicants.

Following a **MOTION by Culleton, seconded by Jones,** the Town Council appointed the following nine members and three alternates to form the Measure C Citizen Oversight Committee by unanimous roll call vote. (395-70-15)

CITIZEN OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE MEMBERS – 6 Year Terms	ALTERNATES
Ending March 31, 2021	
Chris Buzzard	Linda Dye
Dean Fender	Stacey Poliquin
Dan Hansen	Sharon Simonton
Nicki Jones	
Molly Knappen	
George Morris	
James Ratekin	
Kirk Trostle	
Kelly Wells	

3. CLOSED SESSION

At 6:35 p.m. Mayor Bolin announced that pursuant to Government Code Section 54957.6, the Town Council will hold a closed session to meet with Lauren Gill, Gina Will and Crystal Peters, its designated representatives, regarding labor relations between the Town of Paradise and the Confidential/Mid-Management Association, General Employees Unit, the Management Group, Police Mid-Management Unit and the Paradise Police Officers Association.

Mayor Bolin reconvened the meeting at 7:30 p.m. Attorney Moore announced that no action was taken in closed session.

4. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Bolin adjourned the meeting at 7:30 p.m.

DATE APPROVED: March 10, 2015

By:

_____/s/_____ Greg Bolin, Mayor

____/s/____ Joanna Gutierrez, CMC, Town Clerk