

Measure V Oversight Committee Meeting Minutes

4:00 PM – July 23, 2024

1. OPENING

The July 23, 2024, meeting of the Measure V Citizen Oversight Committee was called to order by Chair Sharon Simonton. at 4:00 p.m. who led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Ronald Baker, Chris Buzzard, Linda Dye, Chris Rehmann, Dee Riley and Chair, Sharon Simonton

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Patricia Elkerton, Gail Larsen and George Morris, Jr.

2. ITEMS

- 2a. **MOTION by Rehmann, seconded by Buzzard,** approved minutes from the May 28, 2024, Measure V Citizen Oversight Committee meeting. AYES: Baker, Rehmann, Simonton; NOES: None; ABSTAIN: Buzzard, Dye, Riley; ABSENT: Elkerton, Larsen Morris. **MOTION FAILS**
- 2b. Appointment of Measure V Oversight Committee Chair and Vice Chair for the 2024/2025 Fiscal Year.

Secretary Melanie Elvis opened nominations for a board member to serve as committee chair for a one-year term ending June 30, 2025.

Chris Buzzard nominated Sharon Simonton for Chair.

Motion by Rehmann seconded by Baker to close the nominations. All concurred.

Roll call vote to elect Sharon Simonton to serve as Chair of the Measure V Citizen Oversight Committee for the 2024/2025 Fiscal Year was unanimous.

Chair Simonton opened nominations for a board member to serve as committee Vice-Chair for the 2024/2025 Fiscal Year was unanimous.

Sharon Simonton nominated George Morris Jr. for Vice-Chair.

Chris Buzzard nominated Ronald Baker for Vice-Chair.

Motion by Rehmann seconded by Buzzard to close the nominations. All concurred.

Roll call vote for George Morris, Jr. to service as Vice-Chair for the 2024/2025 Fiscal Year: AYES: Baker, Simonton; NOES: Buzzard, Dye, Rehmann, Riley; ABSTIAN: None; ABSENT: Elkerton, Larsen Morris. **MOTION FAILS**

Roll call vote for Ronald Baker to service as Vice-Chair for the 2024/2025 Fiscal Year: AYES: Baker, Buzzard, dye, Rehmann, Riley, Simonton; NOES: None; ABSTIAN: None; ABSENT: Elkerton, Larsen, Morris. **MOTION PASSES**

2c. Finance Director/Town Treasurer Aimee Beleu presented the preliminary 4th guarter report from the Measure V Citizens Oversight Committee to the residents of the Town of Paradise for the fiscal year ending 2023/2024.

MOTION by Dye, seconded by Riley, Approved the preliminary 4th quarter report from the Measure V Citizens Oversight Committee to the residents of the Town of Paradise for the fiscal year ending 2023/2024. Roll call vote was unanimous with Elkerton, Larsen and Morris absent and not voting.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

Police Chief Eric Reinbold shared updates on the Animal Shelter Expansion Project and the status of the new police vehicles.

Chair Simonton passed around a thank you card for retired Town Clerk, Dina Volenski.

4. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Simonton adjourned the meeting at 4:17 p.m.

Date approved: October 22, 2024

By: ____/s/____ Sharon Simonton, Chair

____/s/____ Melanie Elvis, Town Clerk