Mayor John K. Handeland

Manager Glenn Steckman

Clerk Bryant Hammond



Nome City Council

Jerald Brown

Doug Johnson

Mark Johnson

Adam Martinson

Jennifer Reader

M. Sigvanna Tapqaq

NOME COMMON COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING AGENDA

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 06, 2022 at 12:00 PM COUNCIL CHAMBERS IN CITY HALL

102 Division St. P.O. Box 281 Nome, Alaska 99762 Phone (907) 443-6663 Fax (907) 443-5345

ROLL CALL

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

CITIZENS' COMMENTS

NEW BUSINESS

A. R-22-10-02 A Resolution Canvassing the Results of the October 4, 2022 Annual Municipal Election,

PAGE 2

B. Written Notice of Special Election Results,

PAGE 7

ADJOURNMENT

Dunament d D	Item A
Presented B	y.
City Cle	rk
Action Take	n:
Yes	
No	
Abstain	

CITY OF NOME, ALASKA

RESOLUTION NO. R-22-10-02

A RESOLUTION CANVASSING THE RESULTS OF THE OCTOBER 4, 2022 ANNUAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION

WHEREAS, we, the members of the Common Council of Nome, have canvassed the returns of the Annual Municipal Election, held on the 4th day of October, 2022, for the purpose of electing two Common Council seats, two Utility Board seats, two School Board seats and a ballot proposition; and,

WHEREAS, we find that at said election there were 423 ballots cast and the following number of votes were counted:

Council Seat "E"	
Derek McLarty	115
Cameron Piscoya	288
Write-Ins	7
Council Seat "F"	
Mark Johnson	372
Write-Ins	21
Utility Board Seat "B"	
Derek McLarty	297
Write-Ins	-57
)/
Utility Board Seat "D"	
Larry Pederson	373
Write-Ins	13
School Board Seat "A"	
Darlene Trigg	349
Write-Ins	31
	٠,٠
School Board Seat "E"	
Marjorie Kunaq Tahbone	363
Write-Ins	19
Proposition No. 1	
Yes	241
No	162
110	102

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of Nome, that the following candidates, having received a sufficient plurality for the seats in which they were candidates, are hereby declared elected:

Council Seat "E" – 3 Year Term Cameron Piscoya	Term ending October 2025
Council Seat "F" – 3 Year Term Mark Johnson	Term ending October 2025
Utility Board Seat "A" – 2 Year Term Derek McLarty	Term ending October 2024
Utility Board Seat "D" – 3 Year Term Larry Pederson	Term ending October 2025
School Board Seat "A" – 3 Year Term Darlene Trigg	Term ending October 2025
School Board Seat "E" – 3 Year Term Marjorie Kunaq Tahbone	Term ending October 2025
	nce amending chapter 17.10 of the Nome stitute an increased seasonal sales tax as d.
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayo provided by law.	or and City Clerk execute the foregoing canvass as
APPROVED and SIGNED th	is 6 th day of October, 2022.
ATTEST:	JOHN K. HANDELAND Mayor

BRYANT HAMMOND, City Clerk

CITY ELECTION CITY OF NOME, ALASKA 4-Oct-22

	PRECINCT #1		PRECINCT #2			ABSENTEE				
VOTING CARDS	Serial #		Count	Serial #		Count	Serial #		Count	TOTAL
	Start	End	Count	Start	End	Count	Start	End	Count	
ISSUED TO JUDGES	0001	0600	600	1301	1900	600	0601	0650	50	
UNUSED BALLOTS RETURNED							2551	2600	50	1,300
	0158	0600	443	1549	1900	352	0609	0650	42	
							1911	1950	40	
ISSUED TO VOTERS			157			248	0601	0608	8	
	•				•					

1901 1910 **10**

18

423

RE	CONCILLIATION	ON: BALLOTS	SSUED TO	O VOTES COUNTED)	
	PRECINCT #1	PRECINCT #2		ABSENTEE		TOTAL
ISSUED TO VOTERS	157	248			18	423
Less: Spoiled Ballots		4	Less:	Mailed absentee not returned	2	6
VOTES CAST	157	244		<u>-</u>	15	416
Less: Special Needs Ballots	-	-				
Less: Questioned Ballots	1	3			-	4
			Add:	Special Needs Ballots Counted	-	-
			Add:	Questioned Ballots Counted		
Votes to be counted by Accu-Vote	156	241			15	412
Accu-Vote Ballot Count	156	241		<u>-</u>	16	413
Accu-Vote Over (Under) Coun	t -	-			1	1
			Votes to Absent Spoiled Questic Questic	oned Ballots Not Count to be counted by Accu-Voice Ballots not returned I Ballots oned Ballots Counted oned Ballots not Counted allots Issued	ote	412 1 6 - 4 423

PRECINCT REGISTER	PRECINCT #1	PRECINCT #2
TOTAL SIGNATURES COUNTED Add: Register not signed by voter	156	241
Less: Register signed in error		-
Votes anticipated	156	241
Votes counted by Accu-Vote	156	241
Difference	-	-

		PREC #1	PREC #2	ABSENTEE	QUESTIONED
REGIST	ERED VOTERS	1,089	1,533		
VOTES		156	243	16	4
	COUNTED	156	243	15	-
10110			2.0		
SEAT	NAME	PREC #1	PREC #2	ABSENTEE	QUESTIONED
CC-E	McLarty	48	61	6	0
CC-E	Piscoya	104	175	9	0
CC-E	Write-ins	4	3	0	0
CC-F	Johnson	138	219	15	0
CC-F	Write-ins	11	10	0	0
UB-B	McLarty	115	171	11	0
UB-B	Write-ins	27	28	2	0
UB-D	Pederson	143	217	13	0
UB-D	Write-ins	5	7	1	0
SB-A	Trigg	133	205	11	0
SB-A	Write-ins	16	13	2	0
SB-E	Tahbone	141	212	10	0
SB-E	Write-ins	8	9	2	0
Prop1	YES	102	129	10	0
Prop1	NO	50	106	6	0
NSEDC	McLarty	31	49	5	5 4
NSEDC	Sherman	119	192	11	
NSEDC	Write-ins	6	2	0	0

UPDATED: 10/5/2022 4:05 PM



CITY ELECTION CITY OF NOME, ALASKA 4-Oct-22 *After certification by Election Board, results remain UNOFFICIAL until canvassed by City Council - 10/6/2022 12 Noon **PRECINCT PRECINCT** NOME **QUESTIONED** ABSENTEE TOTAL #1 #2 **REGISTERED VOTERS:** 2,622 1,089 1,533 **BALLOTS CAST:** 419 156 243 16 PERCENT VOTER TURNOUT: 15.98% 14.33% 15.85% 0.61% **BALLOTS COUNTED:** 414 156 243 15 4 Not counted: QUESTIONED BALLOTS COUNTED: **VOTES VOTES VOTES** % % **VOTES VOTES COMMON COUNCIL** SEAT "E" - 3 yr term MCLARTY, Derek 115 28.05% 48 30.77% 61 25.52% 6 40.00% 0.00% PISCOYA, Cameron 288 70.24% 104 66.67% 175 73.22% 9 60.00% 0.00% 7 0.00% WRITE-INS (all) 171% 4 2 56% 3 1.26% 0.00% 410 156 239 15 100.00% SEAT "F" - 3 yr term 372 94.66% 95.63% 100.00% 0.00% JOHNSON, Mark 138 92.62% 219 15 (incumbent) WRITE-INS (all) 21 5.34% 11 7.38% 10 4.37% 0.00% 0.00% 393 149 229 15 **UTILITY BOARD** SEAT "B" - 2 yr term 297 83.90% 80.99% 171 85.93% 84.62% 0.00% MCLARTY, Derek 115 11 (incumbent) 19.01% 14.07% 0.00% WRITE-INS (all) 57 16.10% 27 28 2 15.38% 354 142 199 13 SEAT "D" - 3 yr term PEDERSON, Larry W. 373 96 63% 143 96 62% 217 96 88% 13 92 86% 0.00% WRITE-INS (all) 13 3.37% 5 3.38% 7 3.13% 1 7.14% 0.00% 386 148 224 14 SCHOOL BOARD SEAT "A" - 3 yr term TRIGG, Darlene 349 91.84% 133 89.26% 205 94.04% 11 84.62% 0.00% WRITE-INS (all) 31 8.16% 10.74% 5.96% 2 15.38% 0.00% 16 13 380 149 218 13 SEAT "E" - 3 yr term TAHBONE, Marjorie Kunaq 363 95.03% 141 94.63% 212 95.93% 10 83.33% 0.00% WRITE-INS (all) 19 4.97% 8 5.37% 9 4 07% 2 16.67% 0.00% 382 149 221 12 **PROPOSITION NO. 1 PROPOSITION NO. 1** YES 241 59.80% 102 67.11% 129 54.89% 10 62.50% 0.00% NO 162 40.20% 50 32.89% 106 45.11% 6 37.50% 0.00% 403 152 235 16 **NSEDC MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE - 4 YEAR TERM** REGISTERED VOTERS 20.16% 5 MCLARTY. Derek 90 21 23% 19.87% 49 5 31.25% 55.56% 31 SHERMAN, JT 326 76.89% 119 76.28% 192 79.01% 11 68.75% 4 44.44% WRITE-INS (all) 1.89% 6 3.85% 0.82% 0.00% 0.00% 8

156

243

16

424

City of Nome, Alaska

WRITTEN NOTICE OF SPECIAL ELECTION RESULTS

THIS IS TO NOTIFY NSEDC that on the 4^{th} day of October, 2022, James T. (JT) Sherman was elected as the
Norton Sound Economic Development Corporation Member Representative for Community of Nome,
having received the most votes cast in the election, with a total of 326 votes out of 424 votes cast, as
confirmed by the Nome City Council upon completion of the final canvass of ballots on this $\underline{6^{th}}$ day of
<u>October</u> , 2022.
DATED at Nome, Alaska this 6 th day of <u>October</u> , 2022.
JOHN K. HANDELAND, Mayor
ATTEST:

BRYANT HAMMOND, City Clerk
[City Seal]