

City of Newberry Swearing In Ceremony

April 25, 2022 6:00 PM

25440 West Newberry Road Newberry, Florida 32669

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Marlowe called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Mayor Marlowe asked for approval of the agenda.

Motion made by Commissioner Marden.

Seconded by Commissioner Clark.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, Commissioner Marden, and Commissioner Mazon.

MOTION PASSED 5-0

QUORUM CHECK

Mayor

Commissioners

Jordan Marlowe

Ricky Coleman Mark Clark Monty Farnsworth Tim Marden Tony Mazon

City Manager

City Clerk

Staff:

Assistant Manager, Chief Financial Officer Director of Planning & Economic Development Principal Planner Planner Staff Assistant, City Clerk's Office Dallas Lee Bryan Thomas Jean-Paul Perez Alayna Jackson Sierra Nyberg

Mike New

Judy Rice

Absent:

City Attorney

Scott Walker

INVOCATION

Mr. Tim Marden, Deacon, Destiny Community Church, provided the invocation.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Clark led the pledge.

AGENDA ITEMS

1. Certification of the 2022 Newberry Municipal Election Results

Mayor Marlowe read the results:

Mark Allen – 42.22 % Box 601 73 Box 602 182 Total 255 Walt Boyer – 15.07% Box 601 29 Box 602 62 Total 91 Monty Farnsworth – 42.72% Box 601 84 Box 602 174 Total 258 Undervote 1 Overvote Total votes 604 Total registered voters 5,477 11.03% Voter turnout Motion made by Commissioner Coleman to certify

the 2022 Newberry Municipal Election Results.

Seconded by Commissioner Mazon.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, Commissioner Marden, and Commissioner Mazon.

MOTION PASSED 5-0

2. Swearing In of 2022 Elected Officials

Commissioner Group I – Ricky Coleman Commissioner Group II – Mark Clark Commissioner Group III – Monty Farnsworth Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, and Commissioner Farnsworth stepped down from the dais.

Clerk Rice swore in Ricky Coleman for Commissioner Group I. Commissioner Coleman returned to the dais.

Clerk Rice swore in Mark Clark for Commissioner Group II. Commissioner Clark returned to the dais.

Clerk Rice swore in Monty Farnsworth for Commissioner Group III. Commissioner Farnsworth returned to the dais.

3. Resolution 2022-18 Elect a Chairperson Pro-Tempore and Alternate Chairperson Pro-Tempore

Mayor Marlowe read Resolution 2022-18. He asked for nominations for Chairperson Pro-Tempore.

> Motion made by Commissioner Farnsworth to nominate Commissioner Clark for Chairperson Pro-Tempore.

Seconded by Commissioner Coleman.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, Commissioner Marden, and Commissioner Mazon.

MOTION PASSED 5-0

Mayor Marlowe asked for nominations for Alternate Chairperson Pro-Tempore.

Motion made by Commissioner Farnsworth to nominate Commissioner Mazon for Alternate Chairperson Pro-Tempore.

Seconded by Commissioner Coleman.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, Commissioner Marden, and Commissioner Mazon.

MOTION PASSED 5-0

MEETING ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Jordan Marlowe, Mayor

Judy S. Rice, City Clerk