

City of Newberry Swearing in Ceremony

April 26, 2021 6:00 p.m. 25440 West Newberry Road Newberry, Florida 32669

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

<u>Mayor Marlowe</u> called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. He welcomed <u>Commissioner</u> <u>Coleman</u> back to the dais.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Mayor Marlowe asked for approval of the agenda.

Motion made by <u>Commissioner Marden</u> to approve the agenda.

Seconded by Commissioner Clark.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, and Commissioner Marden.

MOTION PASSED 4-0

QUORUM CHECK

Mayor Jordan Marlowe

Commissioners Ricky Coleman, Virtual

Mark Clark

Monty Farnsworth

Tim Marden

Commissioner Elect Tony Mazon

City Attorney Scott Walker

City Manager Mike New

City Clerk Judy Rice

Staff:

Director of Finance and Administration

Dallas Lee

Director of Planning and Economic Development

Director of Public Works and Utilities

Damie Jones, virtual

Absent:

Commissioner Paul Norfleet

INVOCATION

Reverend Joy Glanzer provided the invocation.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Marlowe led the pledge.

AGENDA ITEMS

1. Certification of Election Results.

<u>Mayor Marlowe</u> read the results of the 2021 Newberry Municipal Election:

Joy Glanzer 430 votes 47%

Tim Marden 487 votes 53%

Motion made by <u>Commissioner Farnsworth</u> to certify the election results.

Seconded by **Commissioner Clark**.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, and Commissioner Marden.

MOTION PASSED 4-0

2. Administration of Oath of Office by City Clerk Judy S. Rice to:

Jordan Marlowe, Mayor

Tim Marden, Group 4

Tony Mazon, Group 5

Clerk Rice swore in Jordan Marlowe. Mayor Marlowe took his seat at the dais.

<u>Clerk Rice</u> swore in <u>Tim Marden</u>. <u>Commissioner Marden</u> took his seat at the dais.

<u>Clerk Rice</u> swore in <u>Tony Mazon</u>. <u>Commissioner Mazon</u> took his seat at the dais.

3. Elect a Chairperson Pro Tempore and an Alternate Chairperson Pro Tempore (Resolution 2021 – 14).

Motion made by <u>Commissioner Farnsworth</u> to elect Commissioner Marden as Chairperson Pro Tempore.

Seconded by Commissioner Clark.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, Commissioner Marden, and Commissioner Mazon.

MOTION PASSED 5-0

2 | Page April 26 2021

Motion made by Commissioner Farnsworth to elect Commissioner Clark Alternate Chairperson Pro Tempore.

Seconded by Commissioner Marden.

Voting Yea: Commissioner Coleman, Commissioner Clark, Commissioner Farnsworth, Commissioner Marden, and Commissioner Mazon.

MOTION PASSED 5-0

COMMENTS

Comments made by <u>Attorney Walker</u>, <u>Clerk Rice</u>, <u>Commissioner Coleman</u>, <u>Commissioner Mazon</u>, and <u>Mayor Marlowe</u>.

Citizens

None.

MEETING	ADJOL	JRNM	IENT

Meeting adjourned at 6:19 p.m.	
Signed and dated this 10 th day of May 2021.	
 Jordan Marlowe, Mayor	 Judy S. Rice. City Clerk

3 | Page April 26 2021