

## **MEDINA, WASHINGTON**

# **PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING**

Hybrid-Virtual/In Person **Tuesday, June 27, 2023 – 6:00 PM** 

## **MINUTES**

COMMISSION CHAIR | Laura Bustamante
COMMISSION VICE-CHAIR | Shawn Schubring
COMMISSIONERS | Li-Tan Hsu, David Langworthy, Mark Nelson, Laurel Preston,
Mike Raskin
PLANNING MANAGER | Stephanie Keyser

### 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Vice Chair Schubring called the meeting to order at 6:02pm.

#### **PRESENT**

Chair Laura Bustamante
Vice Chair Shawn Schubring
Commission Li-Tan Hsu
Commissioner David Langworthy
Commissioner Mark Nelson
Commissioner Laurel Preston

#### **ABSENT**

Commissioner Mike Raskin

#### **STAFF**

Bennett, Keyser

### 2. APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA

By consensus, Planning Commission approved the meeting agenda as presented.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.1 Planning Commission Special Meeting Minutes of May 24, 2023

**Recommendation**: Approve Minutes.

**Staff Contact**: Rebecca Bennett, Development Services Coordinator

**ACTION**: Motion to approve minutes with amendment. (Approved 6-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Commissioner Hsu. Voting Yea: Chair Bustamante, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Hsu,

Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Preston

## 4. ANNOUNCEMENTS

#### 4.1 Staff/Commissioners

Keyser made two announcements. The first announcement is that for next months meeting, Planning Commission will have a new commissioner. The second announcement is that the Housing Action Plan was passed by council six to one.

#### 5. AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION

There was no audience participation.

#### 6. DISCUSSION

6.1 Housing Element

**Recommendation:** Discussion

Staff Contact(s): Stephanie Keyser, AICP, Planning Manager

Time Estimate: 90 minutes

Keyser gave brief overview. Commissioners discussed, asked questions and made adjustments to Medina's Housing Element.

## 7. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 7:43pm.

**ACTION**: Motion to adjourn. (Approved 6-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Commission Hsu. Voting Yea: Chair Bustamante, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Preston

Minutes taken by:

Rebecca Bennett, Development Services Coordinator