

# **MEDINA, WASHINGTON**

# PLANNING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

Virtual/Online Tuesday, December 14, 2021 – 4:00 PM

# MINUTES

COMMISSION CHAIR I Laurel Preston COMMISSION VICE-CHAIR I Shawn Schubring COMMISSIONERS I Laura Bustamante, David Langworthy, Mark Nelson, Mike Raskin, Randy Reeves

PLANNING MANAGER | Stephanie Keyser

# 1 CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Chair Laurel Preston called the meeting to order at 4:05pm

PRESENT Chair Laurel Preston Vice Chair Shawn Schubring Commissioner Laura Bustamante Commissioner David Langworthy Commissioner Mark Nelson Commissioner Mike Raskin Commissioner Randy Reeves

STAFF

Bennett, Keyser, Miner, Wilcox

## 2. APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA

Action: By consensus, Planning Commission approved the meeting agenda as presented.

## 3. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

3.1 Planning Commission Minutes of November 16, 2021
Recommendation: Approve Minutes
Staff Contact: Rebecca Bennett, Development Services Coordinator

Action: Motion to approve minutes. (Approved 7-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Commissioner Bustamante. Voting Yea: Chair Preston, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Bustamante, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Raskin, Commissioner Reeves

#### 4. ANNOUNCEMENTS

#### 4.1 Staff/Commissioners

Keyser announced City Manager Mike Sauerwein's last day is January <u>3rd</u> -Chief Steve Burns has been appointed by Council to be the Interim City Manager. Tom Early has left to go work for King County - Ben Schneider of Otak is a landscape architect who is going to review the tree permit applications; the city has put out an RFP for an arborist. Jackets are available to be picked up at City Hall. The second tree code public hearing has been pushed to next year.

Chair Preston thanked commissioner Reeves for his time as a commissioner.

Commissioner Nelson announced Mason from Gray & Osborne is no longer with us.

#### 5. AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION

Individuals wishing to speak live during the Virtual Planning Commission meeting will need to register their request with the Development Services Coordinator, Rebecca Bennett, via email (rbennett@medina-wa.gov) or by leaving a message at 425.233.6414 before 12pm the day of the Planning Commission meeting. Please reference Public Comments for the December 14 Planning Commission meeting on your correspondence. The Development Services Coordinator will call on you by name or telephone number when it is your turn to speak. You will be allotted 3 minutes for your comment and will be asked to stop when you reach the 3-minute limit.

No public was in attendance to speak during the audience participation.

#### 6. PUBLIC HEARING

 6.1 Permanent Supportive and Transitional Housing <u>Recommendation</u>: Approve <u>Staff Contact(s)</u>: Stephanie Keyser, Planning Manager Time Estimate: 30 minutes

Keyser presented PowerPoint presentation.

Action: Motion to amend proposed code 16.31.040 subsection B to limit to a maximum residents to 8 instead of 10 (Approved 7-0)

Motion made by Vice Chair Schubring, Seconded by Commissioner Raskin. Voting Yea: Chair Preston, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Bustamante, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Raskin, Commissioner Reeves

Action: Motion to amend 16.31.040 to add a subsection that creates a minimum length of stay of 72 hours. (Approved 6-1)

Motion made by Vice Chair Schubring, Seconded by Commissioner Langworthy. Voting Yea: Chair Preston, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Bustamante, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Raskin, Commissioner Reeves Voting Nay: Commissioner Nelson

Action: Motion to adopt proposed code as commissioners amended it in prior motions (Approved 7-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Commissioner Langworthy. Voting Yea: Chair Preston, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Bustamante, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Raskin, Commissioner Reeves

#### 7. DISCUSSION

None.

#### 8. ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Commissioner Langworthy, Seconded by Commissioner Nelson. Voting Yea: Chair Preston, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Bustamante, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Raskin, Commissioner Reeves

Meeting Minutes taken by

Rebecca Bennett Development Services Coordinator