

## **COMMON COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES**

April 16, 2024 at 6:00 PM 303 Mansion Street Mauston, WI

- Call to Order/Roll Call- The Mauston Common Council met in a special session on Tuesday, April 16, 2024. Mayor Dennis Nielsen called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. Members present were Donna McGinley, Courtney Ferguson, Barb Hoilien, Leanna Hagen, Jim Allaby, and Rick Noe. Also present were outgoing Mayor Dennis Nielsen, incoming Mayor Darryl Teske, City Administrator Daron Haugh, and Deputy Clerk Nicole Lyddy.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance- Outgoing Mayor Dennis Nielsen led the Pledge.
- 3. Oath of Office for incoming Council Members- Dennis Nielsen turned over the meeting to the incoming Mayor Darryl Teske.
  - a. Haugh administered the oath of office to Barbara Hoilien, Aldermanic District #4, Rick Noe, Aldermanic District #6, and Darryl Teske, Mayor.
- 4. Annual Code of Ethics Review- Teske reminded the council to review the Code of Ethics and sign the acknowledgment form.
- 5. Discussion and action regarding the Designation of Juneau County Star-Times as the Official City Newspaper as per State Statute 985.06(2)- Motion made by Noe, Seconded by Hoilien to designate Juneau County Star-Times as the Official City Newspaper as per State Statute 985.06(2). Motion carried.
- **6. Mayoral Appointments-**. Motion made by Noe, Seconded by Ferguson to approve mayoral appointments as listed. Motion carried.
- Resolution 2024-06 Resolution Designating Public Depositories- Motion made by Hoilien, Seconded by Ferguson to approve Resolution 2024-06. Motion carried.
- 8. Mayor's Report- Teske expressed gratitude to WRJC for airing the latest two Council meetings, enabling residents to stay informed about community affairs. He extended appreciation to Dennis Nielsen, city staff, committee members, and the Council for their diligent efforts in upholding the city's well-being. Concluding his remarks, he thanked his wife and family for their unwavering support.
- Adjourn- Motion made by Hoilien, Seconded by Noe to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 6:09 pm.

Term	Board Name	Member Name	End Date	Appointed By
2 yr term	Ambulance Commission	Donna McGinley	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
3yr term	Board of Park Commissioners	Mike Taake	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
3yr term	Board of Park Commissioners	Lori Hammer	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
3yr term	Board of Park Commissioners	Laura Taake	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
1 yr term	Board on Tourism	Darryl Teske	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2 yr term	Joint Extra-territorial Zoning	vacant	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
3 yr term	Library Board	Jesse Lueneburg	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
3 yr term	Library Board	Tim Benson	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
5 yr term	Mauston Housing Authority	Tom Casey	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2 yr term	Mauston Tree Board	Maynard Miller	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2 yr term	Mauston Tree Board	Laura Taake	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2yr	Plan Commission	Brian T. McGuire	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2yr	Plan Commission	Paul Coggins	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2yr	Plan Commission	Darryl Teske	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
5yr	Police and Fire Commission	vacant	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2 yr term	Redevelopment Authority	Rick Noe	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2 yr term	Zoning Board of Appeals	Vivian Gabower	4/30/2024	Mayor/Council approval
2 yr term	Zoning Board of Appeals	Bette Smart		Mayor/Council approval
2 yr term	Zoning Board of Appeals	Dennis Thomas		Mayor/Council approval
	0 11			, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
		Council President	Rick Noe	
2 yr term		Ordinances, Licenses and Permits	Courtney Ferguso	n
2 yr term		Ordinances, Licenses and Permits	Leanna Hagen	
2 yr term		Ordinances, Licenses and Permits	Jim Allaby	
2 yr term		Personnel and Negotiating	Jim Allaby	
2 yr term		Personnel and Negotiating	Leanna Hagen	
		Personnel and Negotiating	Rick Noe	
		Health, Welfare & Sustainability	Leanna Hagen	
		Health, Welfare & Sustainability	Donna McGinley	
		Health, Welfare & Sustainability	Barb Hoilien	
		Finance Committee	Courtney Ferguso	n
		Finance Committee	Barb Hoilien	
		Finance Committee	Rick Noe	
		Public Works	Donna McGinley	
		Public Works	Jim Allaby	
		Public Works	Rick Noe	