

# Minutes of the Town Council Special Meeting – Commissioner Interviews Monday, December 16, 2024 5:15 P.M.

The Town Council of the Town of Los Gatos conducted this special meeting in-person and utilizing teleconferencing means.

### MEETING CALLED TO ORDER AT 5:16 P.M.

Mayor Hudes welcomed applicants and provided introductory comments.

#### **ROLL CALL**

Present: Mayor Matthew Hudes, Vice Mayor Rob Moore, Council Member Mary Badame, Council Member Rob Rennie, Council Member Maria Ristow.

Absent: None.

### **VERBAL COMMUNICATIONS**

No one spoke.

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

1. Interview Applicants and Make Appointments to Town Boards, Committees, and Commissions.

Mayor Hudes provided comments to explain the interview process that will be used for the meeting.

Council interviewed the following applicants for the vacant positions on Town Boards, Commissions, and Committees.

### Library Board

- Steve Curry
- o Helena Fontenelle
- Gayle Gordon
- Deborah Lowe
- Katharine Vieceli

### PAGE 2 OF 4

SUBJECT: Minutes of the Town Council Special Meeting of December 16, 2024 -

**Commissioner Interviews** 

DATE: December 18, 2024

## • Planning Commission

- Kyle Bohigian
- o Kendra Burch
- Rasha Lashin (did not interview)
- Salma Mojaddidi (did not interview)
- o Rob Stump

### • Arts and Culture Commission

- Shantik Azima-Taylor
- o Danielle Hinsche (did not interview)
- o Rebecca Navid
- o Thomas Spilsbury (did not interview, submitted a letter requesting reappointment)
- Janet Wolf

### • Historic Preservation Committee

- o Susan Branch
- o Alan Feinberg

# • Parks and Sustainability Commission

- o Brant Corenson
- Malcolm Gordon
- Suresh Mohan
- Reza Navid
- Kim Vrijen

### • Complete Streets and Transportation Commission

- Pradeep Khanal
- o Alice Miano
- o Elisabeth Tabinski

Mayor Hudes called a recess at 7:19 p.m.

The meeting reconvened at 7:32 p.m.

### • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission

- o Tooba Ahmed (non-profit employee, qualifies as LG business employee)
- Folake Phillips (non-profit employee)
- Nora Rousso (resident)
- Gordon Yamate (resident)

### PAGE **3** OF **4**

SUBJECT: Minutes of the Town Council Special Meeting of December 16, 2024 –

**Commissioner Interviews** 

DATE: December 18, 2024

## • Community Health and Senior Services Commission

- Gregory Gentile
- Becky Gore (did not interview)
- Eleanor Yick

Ballots were distributed to each Council Member and the Town Clerk stated that in order for a candidate to be appointed, a majority vote of three or more must occur. The Council Members completed written ballots and provided them to the Town Clerk. Town Clerk Wood read the votes and appointments as follows (applicants not listed did not receive a vote):

# Library Board

- o Gayle Gordon received one vote (Moore).
- o Deborah Lowe received a unanimous vote.
- o Katharine Vieceli received four votes (Rennie, Ristow, Badame, Hudes).

Deborah Lowe and Katharine Vieceli were appointed to the Library Board.

### • Planning Commission

- o Kyle Bohigian received two votes (Moore and Ristow).
- Kendra Burch received a unanimous vote.
- o Rob Stump received three votes (Badame, Hudes, Rennie).

Kendra Burch and Rob Stump were appointed to the Planning Commission.

### • Arts and Culture Commission

- Shantik Azima-Taylor received one vote (Moore).
- o Rebecca Navid received a unanimous vote.
- o Thomas Spilsbury received four votes (Badame, Hudes, Rennie, Ristow).
- Janet Wolf received a unanimous vote.

Rebecca Navid, Thomas Spilsbury, and Janet Wolf were appointed to the Arts and Culture Commission.

#### • Historic Preservation Committee

- Susan Branch received one vote (Rennie).
- o Alan Feinberg received four votes (Badame, Hudes, Moore, Ristow).

Alan Feinberg was appointed to the Historic Preservation Committee.

### PAGE 4 OF 4

SUBJECT: Minutes of the Town Council Special Meeting of December 16, 2024 -

**Commissioner Interviews** 

DATE: December 18, 2024

## • Parks and Sustainability Commission

- Brant Corenson received three votes (Badame, Hudes, Ristow).
- o Malcolm Gordon received two votes (Hudes, Rennie).
- o Reza Navid received two votes (Badame, Moore).
- o Kimberly "Kim" Vrijen received three votes (Moore, Rennie, Ristow).

Brant Corenson and Kimberly Vrijen were appointed to the Park and Sustainability Commission.

### • Complete Streets and Transportation Commission

- o Pradeep Khanal received a unanimous vote.
- o Alice Miano received a unanimous vote.
- o Elisabeth Tabinski received a unanimous vote.

Pradeep Khanal, Alice Miano, and Elisabeth Tabinski were appointed to Complete Streets and Transportation Commission.

### • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission

- Tooba Ahmed received a unanimous vote for the Los Gatos Business Owner or Employee seat.
- o Folake Phillips received a unanimous vote for the Non-Profit Employee seat.
- o Nora Rousso received one vote for the Resident seat (Hudes).
- Gordon Yamate received four votes for the Resident seat (Badame, Moore, Rennie, Ristow).

Tooba Ahmed was appointed to the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission for the seat of Los Gatos Business Owner or Employee; Folake Phillips was appointed to the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission for the seat of Non-Profit Employee; and Gordon Yamate was appointed to the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission for the seat of Resident.

### • Community Health and Senior Services Commission

- o Gregory Gentile received a unanimous vote.
- Eleanor Yick received a unanimous vote.

Gregory Gentile and Eleanor Yick were appointed to the Community Health and Senior Services Commission.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 8:38 p.m	The	meeting	adiourned	at 8:38	p.m
-----------------------------------	-----	---------	-----------	---------	-----

Respectfully Submitted:				
/s/Jenna De Long, Deputy Town Clerk				