TO: Lincoln Parish Police Jury

FROM: Personnel and Benefits Committee

SUBJECT: Committee Report

The Personnel and Benefits Committee of the Lincoln Parish Police Jury met in the Police Jury Meeting Room, 100 West Texas Avenue, Tuesday, March 14, 2023, at 5:40 p.m. Present were: Joe Henderson, Chair; TJ Cranford, Logan Hunt, Milton Melton, and Sharyon Mayfield.

ABSENT: None

Joe Henderson called the meeting to order and delivered the invocation.

Sharyon Mayfield offered a motion, seconded by Milton Melton, to approve the agenda. The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Cranford, Hunt, Henderson, Melton, and Mayfield

Chairman Henderson called for Public Comments on Agenda Items. There were none.

The first item on the agenda was to announce a vacancy and recommendation of appointment for the Mt. Olive Waterworks District. Milton Melton offered a motion, seconded by Logan Hunt, to recommend the appointment of Mr. Dennis Simonton to the Mt. Olive Waterworks District for a five-year term. The motion carried with the following votes:

YEAS: Cranford, Hunt, Henderson, Melton, and Mayfield

YEAS: Cranford, Hunt, Henderson, Melton, and Mayfield

The next item on the agenda was to consider amending the Board and Commission Appointment Policies and Procedures to clarify "Procedures – No. 5." Chairman Henderson asked for clarification on what the change to the policy would affect. Interim Administrator Courtney Hall stated that this would speed up the appointment process for boards or commissions that accepted appointment recommendations from other entities, such as the Convention and Visitor's Bureau Commission which receives appointments from the local Universities. After further discussion, Mr. Hunt requested that the policy be adjusted to list each entity that this change would affect. No action was taken.

There being no other business to come before the jury, nor any further public comments, Sharyon Mayfield offered a motion, seconded by Milton Melton, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried with the following votes:

Courtney Hall
Joe Henderson
Interim Parish Administrator
Committee Chair