

Downtown Development Authority Board of Directors Draft Minutes

Friday, October 15, 2021 at 12:00 PM Remote Meeting via Zoom

1. Call to Order at 12:02 pm

2. Roll Call

PRESENT

Chairperson Dan Sugg (Lathrup Village, Oakland County, MI)

Board Member Bryan Ford (Wixom, Oakland County, MI)

Board Member Bobbi Lovins (Lathrup Village, Oakland County, MI)

Secretary Sheryl Mitchell Theriot (Chicago, Cook County, MI)

Board Member Fred Prime (Lathrup Village, Oakland County, MI)

Board Member Pam Shermeyer (Lathrup Village, Oakland County, MI)

Board Member Mark Watts (Lathrup Village, Oakland County, MI)

ABSENT

Board Member Shyla Beltur

Board Member, Mayor Kelly Garrett

OTHER PRESENT

Pam Bratschi (DDA Treasurer) (Lathrup Village, Oakland County, MI)

Cori Dahl (DDA Manager) (Detroit, Wayne County, MI)

Susie Stec (Lathrup Village, Oakland County, MI)

Motion to excuse Board Members Shyla Belture and Mayor Kelly Garrett made by Board Member Shermeyer, Seconded by Board Member Ford.

Voting Yea: Chairperson Sugg, Board Member Ford, Board Member Lovins, Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Board Member Prime, Board Member Shermeyer, Board Member Watts

3. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda made by Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Seconded by Board Member Prime.

Voting Yea: Chairperson Sugg, Board Member Ford, Board Member Lovins, Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Board Member Prime, Board Member Shermeyer, Board Member Watts

4. Approval of Minutes

A. September 17, 2021 Board Minutes

Motion to approve September 17, 2021 minutes made by Board Member Shermeyer, Seconded by Board Member Lovins.

Voting Yea: Chairperson Sugg, Board Member Ford, Board Member Lovins, Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Board Member Prime, Board Member Shermeyer, Board Member Watts

5. Financial Review

A. September Financial Sheets

Treasurer Bratschi gave an overview, the TIFA funds are starting to show in the financial reports. Tax Tribunal is over budget due to the refunds from the JMC Buildings.

Boardmember Ford requested a more traditional income statement to accompany the financial reports. Chairperson Sugg suggested a narrative to accompany the reports. Boardmember Lovins asked about the vantage point account and cardmember services, Bratschi answered it is the health savings account and the credit card services.

Motion to receive and file September Financial Sheets made by Board Member Prime, Seconded by Board Member Lovins.

Voting Yea: Chairperson Sugg, Board Member Ford, Board Member Lovins, Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Board Member Prime, Board Member Shermeyer, Board Member Watts

6. Committee Reports

A. Economic Vitality Minutes

Dahl provided an overview.

B. Upcoming DDA Events

Dahl provided an overview.

7. Other Business

A. October Code Enforcement

Stec provided an overview.

B. Director's Report

Stec provided an overview of the report highlighting the application to the American Rescue Plan Transformative Funds for two HAWK pedestrian crossings along Southfield Road.

8. Old Business

9. New Business

A. Cost Share Amendment

Stec provided an overview of the proposed amendments for the Cost Share Agreement that included eliminated the items referring to the Parks & Rec Coordinator.

Motion to approve the amendments to the Cost Share Agreement in Lathrup Village and forward to City Council by Board Member Shermeyer, Seconded by Board Member Ford.

Voting Yea: Chairperson Sugg, Board Member Ford, Board Member Lovins, Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Board Member Prime, Board Member Shermeyer, Board Member Watts

B. Sign Grant--Beauty Hunters LLC

Motion to approve the Beauty Hunters Sign Grant for the maximum amount of \$2,000 made by Board Member Lovins, Seconded by Board Member Shermeyer.

Voting Yea: Chairperson Sugg, Board Member Ford, Board Member Lovins, Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Board Member Prime, Board Member Shermeyer, Board Member Watts

C. Christmas Decorations

Motion to approve the expenditure for the Holiday Decorations by Board Member Prime, Seconded by Board Member Lovins.

Voting Yea: Chairperson Sugg, Board Member Ford, Board Member Lovins, Secretary Mitchell Theriot, Board Member Prime, Board Member Shermeyer, Board Member Watts

10. Public Comment—none.

11. Adjourn at 12:51 p.m.

Minutes prepared by Cori Dahl (DDA Manager) on behalf of Dr. Sheryl Mitchell Theriot (DDA Secretary).