Economic Development Committee July 23, 2020

The Economic Development Committee met Thursday, July 23, 2020 at 12:00 PM at the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Mr. John McCarty, Ms. Regina Rowe, and Mr. Lynn Treadway. Absent: none.

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Mr. Treadway. Mr. McCarty gave the invocation and Mr. Treadway led in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no public comments.

The Chairman thanked those in attendance and asked them to introduce themselves. Attendees were as follows:

Mayor Leslie Thompson, Town of Jonesboro

Mr. Calvin Worth, Town of Jonesboro Public Works Director

Mr. Brad Graff, engineer for the Town of Jonesboro

Mr. Devon Flowers, Town of Jonesboro Alderman

Mr. Thurston Allen, Jonesboro State Bank

Representative Jack McFarland, State of Louisiana

Senator Jay Morris, State of Louisiana

Ms. Christine Rambo, North Louisiana Economic Partnership

The Chairman asked Mr. Graff to present the details of the proposed projects to rehabilitate the Town of Jonesboro's oxidation pond and water system that serves the area including Industrial Drive.

Ms. Rambo discussed the need to correct the water issues in order for the Industrial Drive site to be certified. She detailed the benefits of the site location and explained the Workforce ACT program and Jackson Parish being certified as a "workforce ready community."

Representative McFarland and Senator Morris discussed funding opportunities for the Town of Jonesboro's water system.

The Committee discussed the timing of certifying the land and the 2-year commitment for the landowner to sell it.

The Committee discussed next steps for the Town to get funding to correct the oxidation pond and water system.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. McCarty to adjourn. Motion carried.