The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in regular session on Monday, January 13, 2024, at 5:30 PM in the Nathaniel Zeno, Jr. meeting room, 160 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members Present: Mr. Todd Culpepper, Mrs. Sheketia Combs, Ms. Regina Rowe, Mr. Keith Burris, Mrs. Amy Magee, and Mr. Lewis Chatham. Absent: Mrs. Tarneshala Cowans. Also present: Mr. Brad Roller, Operations Manager; Mr. Wayne Anderson, Road Superintendent, and Mr. Robin Sessions, Solid Waste Superintendent, and Mr. Paul Riley, Parish Engineer.

The President, Mr. Culpepper, called the meeting to order. Ms. Rowe gave the invocation and Mr. Chatham led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The President opened the floor for public comments. There were none.

Motion- Mrs. Magee, seconded by Mr. Chatham to amend the agenda adding item #16a. Agenda item #16a-reappoint Ms. Regina Rowe to the Sparta Commission. Motion carried.

The President moved to the approval of minutes.

Motion- Mr. Chatham, seconded by Mr. Burris to adopt the minutes of the December 9, 2024, Police Jury Meeting, monthly purchase orders, and the payment of all bills. Motion carried.

The President called for approval of committee reports.

Motion- Ms. Rowe, seconded by Mrs. Magee to adopt the minutes of the December 3, 2024, Finance Committee Meeting. Motion carried.

Motion- Mr. Burris, seconded by Mrs. Combs to adopt the minutes of the December 12, 2024, Policy and Personnel Committee meeting. Motion carried.

Motion- Mr. Chatham, seconded by Magee to allow employees to sell up to 40 hours of their vacation time in eight-hour increments once a calendar year with a 2-week notice and 20 hours of vacation time left. Motin carried.

The President called for monthly management reports.

Mr. Brad Roller, Operations Manager, gave the December 2024 Operations Manager Reports.

Mr. Wayne Anderson, Road Superintendent, presented the December 2024 Road Report noting that \$4,668.72 had been spent on emergency callouts/off-schedule work.

Motion- Ms. Rowe, seconded by Mrs. Magee to accept the December 2024 emergency/off-schedule reports. Motion carried.

Mr. Robin Sessions, Solid Waste Superintendent, presented the December 2024 Solid Waste Report.

The President moved to Other Business.

Mr. Paul Riley presented the Engineering Report.

Motion- Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Burris to approve the North Louisiana Criminalistic Laboratory's 2024 Amended Budget and 2025 Proposed Budget. Motion carried.

There was no action taken on agenda item #11

Motion- Ms. Rowe, seconded by Mr. Chatham to approve taking final action to clean up property in accordance with the nuisance ordinance. Motion carried.

Motion- Mr. Chatham, seconded by Mr. Burris to adopt and approve the resolution for the Sales Tax renewal (roll call vote)

District 1: Yea District 2: Yea District 3: Yea District 4: Yea District 5: Absent District 6: Yea District 7: Yea Yeas: 6 Nays: 0 Absent: 1 Abstaining: 0 Motion carried

Motion- Mr. Burris, seconded by Mrs. Magee authorizing the Secretary-Treasurer to advertise for the Solid Waste Operator I vacancy. Motion carried.

Motion- Mrs. Magee, seconded by Mrs. Rowe to approve Brad Roller (Operations Manager) and Robin Sessions (Solid Waste Superintendent) attending the LSWA Conference on March 19-21, 2025. Motion carried.

Motion- Mr. Burris, seconded by Mr. Chatham to approve the Solid Waste 2025 Holiday Work Schedule. Motion carried.

Motion- Mrs. Magee, seconded by Mr. Burris to reappoint Ms. Regina Rowe to the Sparta Commission. Motion carried.

Motion- Mrs. Magee, seconded by Mr. Chatham to reappoint Mrs. Conchita-Malone Doyle (Ambulance Board) Ms. Judy Cooper (Library Board), Mr. Joel Burnum (Quitman Fire District), Mr. Colby Bowman (Quitman Fire District), and Ms. Kim Huthinson (Hospital Board). Motion carried.

Announcements- Brent Barnett was named the OEP Director for 2025, the President gave out the 2025 committee assignments, and there was a declaration of emergency declared for the purchase of a Solid Waste tractor truck.

All jury members thanked the public for coming and acknowledged/thanked the workers for all of their hard work during the holidays.

Motion- Ms. Rowe, seconded Mrs. Magee to adjourn. Motion carried.

Nia Evans	Todd Culpepper
Nia Evans, Secretary-Treasurer	Todd Culpepper, President