The Jackson Parish Police Jury met Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 12:15 PM in the Police Jury Meeting Room of the Jackson Parish Courthouse, 500 E. Court Street, Room 301, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Mr. Todd Culpepper, Mr. Eddie Langston, Ms. Amy Magee. Mr. John McCarty, Ms. Niki Cowans, Ms. Regina Rowe, and Mr. Lynn Treadway. Absent: none. Also present: Mr. Darrell Avery, Assistant District Attorney

The meeting was called to order by the President, Ms. Rowe.

There were no public comments.

The President called for Committee Reports.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Ms. Magee to adopt the minutes of the January 24th Personnel Committee Meeting. Motion carried.

The minutes were read aloud by the Secretary-Treasurer:

Personnel Committee January 24, 2019

The Personnel Committee met Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 12:10 PM in the Police Jury Meeting Room of the Jackson Parish Courthouse, 500 E. Court Street, Room 301, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Ms. Amy Magee, Mr. John McCarty, and Ms. Regina Rowe. Absent: none. Also present: Mr. Todd Culpepper, Mr. Eddie Langston, Ms. Niki Cowans, and Mr. Lynn Treadway.

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Ms. Rowe. Mr. McCarty gave the invocation and Ms. Magee led in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no public comments.

Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Ms. Magee to recommend approving the request from Sharon Satcher for travel to the JP and Constable Training Conference February 19-22, 2019. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. McCarty to recommend approving the request from Thomas Faber for travel to the JP and Constable Training Conference February 19-22, 2019. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. McCarty to recommend approving the requested appointment of Jimmy Tolar (Ward 2) to replace and complete the term of Arthur Harper (Ward 2) on the Ward Four Fire District Board effective January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2019. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Ms. Magee to recommend accepting the resignation of Margaret Ford (Ward 4) from the Library Board. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Ms. Magee to recommend the hiring of Tim Hartness as Operator I – Level I in the Solid Waste Department pending completion of the 60-day probation period. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. McCarty to recommend the hiring of Morgan Roberson as Medical Assistant at the Health Unit pending completion of the 60-day probation period at \$11.00 per hour. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. McCarty to adjourn. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Mr. McCarty to approve the request from Sharon Satcher for travel to the JP and Constable Training Conference February 19-22, 2019. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Ms. Magee to approve the request from Thomas Faber for travel to the JP and Constable Training Conference February 19-22, 2019. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Ms. Cowans to approve the requested appointment of Jimmy Tolar (Ward 2) to replace and complete the term of Arthur Harper (Ward 2) on the Ward Four Fire District Board effective January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2019. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Mr. Treadway to accept the resignation of Margaret Ford (Ward 4) from the Library Board. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Langston, seconded Ms. Cowans to approve the hiring of Tim Hartness as Operator I – Level I in the Solid Waste Department pending completion of the 60-day probation period. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Langston, seconded Mr. Treadway to approve the hiring of Morgan Roberson as Medical Assistant at the Health Unit pending completion of the 60-day probation period at \$11.00 per hour. Motion carried.

The President announced that there would be an election for 2019 officers. The floor was opened for nominations for President.

Motion Mr. Culpepper, seconded Mr. Langston to un-table the previous nominations and votes from the January 14, 2019 meeting. Motion carried.

The previous votes and nominations were:

Mr. Treadway nominated Mr. McCarty for President. Mr. Culpepper nominated Ms. Magee for President. There were no other nominations.

A roll call vote was taken:				
<u>MEMBERS</u>	<u>Ms. Magee</u>	<u>Mr. McCarty</u>	<u>ABSENT</u>	<u>ABSTAINING</u>
(Ward 1) Todd Culpepper	<u> </u>			
(Ward 2) Eddie Langston			X	
(Ward 3) Amy Magee	<u> </u>			
(Ward 4) John McCarty		Х		
(Ward 5) Niki Cowans	<u> </u>			
(Ward 6) Regina Rowe		X		
(Ward 7) Lynn Treadway		Х		

There was discussion on completing the previous vote with nominations and votes remaining the same.

Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Mr. Treadway to re-table the previous nominations and votes from the January 14, 2019 meeting. Motion carried with Mr. Culpepper, Mr. Langston, and Ms. Magee voting "Nay".

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Mr. McCarty to open the floor for new nominations for the 2019 President. Motion carried.

Mr. Culpepper nominated Ms. Magee for President. Mr. Treadway nominated Mr. McCarty for President. There were no other nominations.

A roll call vote was taken:

<u>MEMBERS</u>	<u>Ms. Magee</u>	<u>Mr. McCarty</u>	ABSENT	<u>ABSTAINING</u>
(Ward 1) Todd Culpepper	Х			
(Ward 2) Eddie Langston	Х			
(Ward 3) Amy Magee	X			
(Ward 4) John McCarty		Х		
(Ward 5) Niki Cowans		Х		
(Ward 6) Regina Rowe		Х		
(Ward 7) Lynn Treadway		Х		

There being a majority of the vote in favor of his election, Mr. John McCarty was declared President for the year 2019.

Ms. Rowe turned the gavel over to Mr. McCarty and Mr. McCarty assumed the chair.

Mr. McCarty opened the floor for nominations for the 2019 Vice President.

Mr. Culpepper nominated Ms. Magee for Vice President. Mr. Treadway nominated Ms. Rowe for Vice President. There were no other nominations.

A roll call vote was taken:

<u>MEMBERS</u>	Ms. Magee	Ms. Rowe	<u>ABSENT</u>	ABSTAINING
(Ward 1) Todd Culpepper	Х			
(Ward 2) Eddie Langston	X			
(Ward 3) Amy Magee	X			
(Ward 4) John McCarty		Х		
(Ward 5) Niki Cowans	X			
(Ward 6) Regina Rowe		Х		
(Ward 7) Lynn Treadway		Х		

There being a majority of the vote in favor of her election, Ms. Amy Magee was declared Vice President for the year 2019.

Motion Mr. Culpepper, seconded Mr. Treadway to adopt a resolution authorizing the 2019 President and Vice President signatures be added to the signature cards for bank accounts at Jonesboro State Bank and authorize co-signatures with the Payroll and Accounts Payable Clerks in the absence of the Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper, seconded Ms. Cowans to adjourn. Motion carried.