The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in regular session on Monday, January 10, 2022, at 5:30 PM in the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members Present: Mr. Todd Culpepper, Mr. Lewis Chatham, Ms. Amy Magee, Mr. John McCarty, Ms. Regina Rowe, and Mr. Lynn Treadway. Absent: Ms. Tarneshala Cowans. Also present, Mr. Darrell Avery, Assistant D.A.

The President, Ms. Amy Magee, called the meeting to order. Mr. McCarty gave the invocation and Ms. Rowe led in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The President presented the Jury with a request from the Jonesboro-Hodge High School for free use of the Community Center and asked if there would be a motion to amend the agenda. No action was taken.

The President opened the floor for public comments, and they were heard.

The President opened the floor for nominations for the 2022 President. Mr. Chatham nominated Mr. Treadway. Mr. McCarty nominated Mr. Culpepper. There were no other

nominations. Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Mr. Chatham to close nominations. Motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken:

MEMBERS:	Mr. Treadway	Mr. Culpepper	Absent	Abstaining
District 1: Todd Culpepper		Х		
District 2: Lewis Chatham	Х			
District 3: Amy Magee	Х			
District 4: John McCarty		Х		
District 5: Tarneshala Cowans			Х	
District 6: Regina Rowe	Х			
District 7: Lynn Treadway	Х			

There being a majority of the votes in favor of his election, Mr. Treadway was declared the President for the year 2022 and assumed the Chair.

The President opened the floor for nominations for Vice President.

Mr. Chatham nominated Ms. Rowe. There were no other nominations. Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Ms. Magee to close nominations. Motion carried.

With no other nominations, Ms. Rowe was declared the Vice President for the year 2022 by acclamation.

The President moved to annual organizational items.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. Chatham to set the meeting date, time, and location as the second Monday of each month at 5:30 P.M. at the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, LA. Ms. Rowe asked that they consider moving the meeting date to the second Tuesday of each month.

A roll call vote was taken as follows for holding meetings on the second Monday: District 1: Yea, District 2: Nay, District 3: Yea, District 4: Nay, District 5: Absent, District 6: Nay, District 7: Nay. Motion failed.

A roll call vote was taken as follows for holding meetings on the second Tuesday: District 1: Nay, District 2: Yea, District 3: Yea, District 4: Yea, District 5: Absent, District 6: Yea, District 7: Yea. Motion carried to hold regular meetings on the second Tuesday of each month with the time and location remaining at 5:30 P.M. at the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, LA.

Mr. McCarty asked that the Jury consider having a daytime meeting once during the year to accommodate residents that cannot attend the evening meetings.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. Chatham to adopt the following resolution:

Resolution 0110-2022-001

Resolution authorizing the President, Vice-President, and Parish Administrator to sign bank cards and financial document.

WHEREAS, the Jackson Parish Police Jury must establish and give authority to these positions to appropriately sign and execute all financial documents on a local, state, and federal level to maintain stability of parish operations;

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Jackson Parish Police Jury, in regular session, convened to authorize the President, Vice-President, and Parish Administrator to sign bank cards and all necessary financial documents on a local, state, and federal level to continue the operations of the Parish;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the President, Vice-President, and Parish Administrator shall obtain and be appropriately bonded in the amounts as required by law;

BE IT RESOLVED AND ADOPTED, on a motion made by <u>Ms. Magee</u>, seconded by <u>Mr. Chatham</u> on this 10th day of January 2022, in regular session, and the votes were recorded as follows:

Yeas: <u>6</u> Nays: <u>0</u> Absent: <u>1</u> Abstain: <u>0</u>

Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Ms. Rowe to appoint Ms. Gina Thomas as the Parish Secretary and Treasurer for a 2-year term. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Culpepper to adopting a resolution to authorize the Secretary-Treasurer to sign documents and pay bills on behalf of the Jackson Parish Police Jury. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. Chatham to adopt the 2022 Police Jury Holiday Schedule. Motion carried.

The President moved to the approval of minutes.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. Chatham to adopt the minutes of the December 13th and 29th Jury Meetings, monthly purchase orders, and the payment of all bills. Motion carried.

The President called for monthly management reports.

Mr. Brad Roller, OEP Director and Operations Manager, gave the December 2021 OEP and Operations Manager Reports.

Mr. Jody Stuckey, Road Superintendent, presented the December 2021 Road report noting that \$1,177.37 had been spent on emergency call-outs/off-schedule work.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Ms. Magee to accept the December 2021 emergency/off-schedule reports. Motion carried.

Mr. Robin Session, Solid Waste Superintendent, presented the December 2021 Solid Waste report.

Ms. Gina Thomas, Parish Administrator, gave the December 2021 Financial Report noting the budget to actual comparisons and discussed the consolidated funds and accrual process.

The President moved on to Other Business. No Engineering Report was given.

Motion Mr. Culpepper, seconded Mr. McCarty to accept the 2022 insurance proposals from Travelers and LUBA. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Chatham, seconded Ms. Magee to accept the 2022 material bids for fuel/oil and cold mix. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Ms. Rowe to authorize a Request for Proposal for pre-disaster emergency debris hauling. Motion carried.

The Jury reviewed Parish Board Appointments.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Ms. Rowe to take action on the following parish board members:

- Re-appoint Jerry Chestnut to the Watershed Commission for a 4-year term ending 12/31/2025.
- Re-appoint Williams (Bill) Wheelis to the District 2 Fire Board for a 2-year term ending 12/31/2023.
- Re-appoint James Mixon to the District 3 Fire Board for a 2-year term ending 12/31/2023.
- Re-appoint Jimmy Tolar to the District 4 Fire Board for a 2-year term ending 12/31/2023.
- Re-appoint Marc Thomas to the District 4 Fire Board for a 2-year term ending 12/31/2023.
- Appoint Wendy Hall to the Jonesboro Fire Board to complete the vacant term ending 12/31/2022.
- Accept the resignation of Carolyn Crawley from the Library Board effective 12/31/2021.
- Re-appoint Rodney Potts Jr. to the Recreation Board for a 3-year term ending 2/28/2025.

• Re-appoint Alma Lee Williams to the Ambulance Board for a 6-year term ending 12/31/2027.

Motion carried.

The Jury reviewed the nuisance complaint on Ed Barnes Road with the latest photos of the area. Ms. Rowe stated the property owner had taken measures to clean up the area and put up a temporary fence, but there was still work needed.

No action was taken.

The Jury reviewed the request from the Jackson Parish Correctional Center for use of the Community Center parking lot for bus training. Mr. Avery recommended a Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with a hold harmless agreement.

Motion Ms. Magee, seconded Mr. Chatham to authorize the President to execute a Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with the Jackson Parish Correctional Center for use of the Community Center parking lot for training their drivers. Motion carried.

There were no announcements or notifications. The President opened the floor for Juror comments.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Culpepper to adjourn. Motion carried.