The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in regular session on Thursday, September 20, 2022, at 5:30 PM in the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members Present: Mr. Todd Culpepper, Ms. Amy Magee, Mr. John McCarty, Ms. Tarneshala Cowans, Ms. Regina Rowe, and Mr. Lynn Treadway. Absent: Mr. Lewis Chatham. Also present, Mr. Brad Roller, Operations Manager; Mr. Jody Stuckey, Road Superintendent; Mr. Robin Sessions, Solid Waste Superintendent; Mr. Darrell Avery, Assistant D.A.; and Mr. Thomas Magee, Consultant.

The President, Mr. Treadway, called the meeting to order. Ms. Rowe gave the invocation and Mr. McCarty led in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The President opened the floor for public comments. There were no public comments.

The President convened the 2022 Board of Review. Mr. Glen Kirkland, Jackson Parish Tax Assessor, presented the appeals.

Motion by Mr. Culpepper, second by Ms. Magee to uphold the 2022 assessments as presented by the Tax Assessor and to deny the changes to the 2022 tax roll as requested by:

Regency Intrastate Gas, LLC

and to affirm and accept the 2022 tax roll assessment as presented by the Jackson Parish Tax Assessor. A roll call vote was taken:

District 1 – Yea, District 2 – Absent, District 3 – Yea, District 4 – Yea, District 5 – Yea, District 6 – Yea, District 7 – Yea

6 Yeas: 0 Nays: Absent: 1 0

Abstaining:

Motion carried.

The President called for a Public Hearing for members of the public to address the Police Jury with their comments regarding the housing and community development needs of Jackson Parish. Mr. Thomas Magee of Frye Magee discussed the submission of an application for funding under the State of Louisiana FY 2023 Community Development Block Grant (LCDBG) Program.

Motion by Ms. Magee, second by Mr. Culpepper to close the public hearing. Motion carried.

The President moved to the approval of minutes.

Motion by Ms. Cowans, second by Ms. Rowe to adopt the minutes of the August 24th, September 7th, and September 14th Jury Meetings, monthly purchase orders, and the payment of all bills. Motion carried.

The President moved to Committee Reports.

Motion by Ms. Rowe, second by Ms. Cowans to adopt the following minutes from the August 24th Projects Committee meeting. Motion carried.

> **Project Committee** August 24, 2022

The Project Committee met Wednesday, August 24, 2022, at 5:15 PM in the Nathaniel Zeno, Jr. Meeting Room, Jackson Parish Administrative Building, 160 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members Present: Ms. Regina Rowe and Mr. Lynn Treadway. Absent: Ms. Tarneshala Cowans. Also present: Mr. Doug Mitchell, Executive

Director of North Delta Regional Planning Commission; Mr. Brad Roller, Operations Manager; and Ms. Angie Roberts, Registrar of Voters.

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Mr. Chatham. The invocation and the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance had taken place in the prior meeting.

There were no public comments.

The Committee reviewed the information submitted by Mr. Mitchell regarding the apportionment plan. Motion by Mr. Lynn Treadway, seconded by Ms. Regina Rowe to recommend to the Police Jury to submit the apportionment plan that leaves the districts as they currently are with a written letter explaining the situation.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Ms. Rowe to adjourn. Motion carried.

The President called for monthly management reports.

Mr. Brad Roller, Operations Manager, gave the September 2022 Operations Manager Report.

Mr. Jody Stuckey, Road Superintendent, presented the September 2022 Road report noting that \$3,976.02 had been spent on emergency call-outs/off-schedule work.

Motion by Ms. Rowe, second by Ms. Magee to accept the September 2022 emergency/off-schedule reports. Motion carried.

Mr. Robin Session, Solid Waste Superintendent, presented the September 2022 Solid Waste report.

The President moved on to Other Business.

Motion by Ms. Magee, second by Mr. McCarty to appoint Mr. Ricky D. Cash to the District 2 Fire District, representing District 2, for a 2-year term ending 12/31/2024.

Motion by Ms. Magee, second by Mr. McCarty to accept the resignation of Mr. Jimmy Tolar from the District 4 Fire Protection District and to appoint Mr. Harold Glen Watkins, representing District 4, to fill Mr. Tolar's unexpired term ending 12/31/2023.

Motion by Ms. Rowe, second by Ms. Magee, to approve the use of the Community Center by the LSU Ag Center for the requested dates.

Motion by Ms. Magee, second by Ms. Rowe, to approve the use of the Community Center by the Jackson Parish Clerk of Court for the requested dates.

The President made the following announcement:

Notice is hereby given that at its meeting to be held on Tuesday, October 18, 2022, at 5:30 p.m. at its regular meeting place, the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana, the Police Jury of the Parish of Jackson, State of Louisiana, plans to consider adopting a resolution ordering and calling an election to be held in the Parish of Jackson, State of Louisiana to authorize the renewal of an ad valorem tax therein.

The President opened the floor for Juror comments.

Motion by Ms. Rowe, second by Mr. Culpepper to adjourn. Motion carried.