

CITY OF GUSTAVUS CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING

Monday, October 03, 2022 at 5:30 PM via Zoom

CITY HALL

COUNCIL MEMBERS Mayor Mike Taylor Vice Mayor Kyle Bishop Council Members: Tania Lewis, Joe Vanderzanden Lewis Sharman, Bella Furr, Jim Mackovjak

City Administrator – Kathy Leary City Clerk, CMC - Karen Platt City Treasurer -Phone: 907-697-2451|clerk@gustavus-ak.gov

AGENDA

VIRTUAL MEETING INFORMAITON

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89073145829?pwd=V0hQNGoxSXhyN0hnQ2hHVkMrRmRKQT0 9

ID: 890 7314 5829 PASSCODE: 524429 TEL: 1 253 215 8782

ROLL CALL

Reading of the City of Gustavus Vision Statement

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

MAYOR'S REQUEST FOR AGENDA CHANGES

COMMITTEE / STAFF REPORTS

PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS

CONSENT AGENDA

ORDINANCE FOR PUBLIC HEARING

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

NEW BUSINESS

- <u>1.</u> Amendment of CY22-16 Appointing Election Officials for the 2022 Municipal Election
- 2. Appointment of Acting City Treasurer, Kathy Leary

CITY COUNCIL REPORTS

CITY COUNCIL QUESTIONS AND COMMENTS

PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS

EXECUTIVE SESSION

ADJOURNMENT

POSTED ON: September 28, 2022 at P.O, Library, City Hall & https://cms.gustavus-ak.gov/

ADA NOTICE

Any person with a disability who requires accommodations in order to participate in this meeting should telephone the City Clerk's office at (907) 697-2451, at least 48 hours prior to the meeting in order to make a request for a disability related modification or accommodation.

VISION STATEMENT

We envision a distinctive community:

- That prospers while and by protecting its natural resources;
- With a sustainable economy and infrastructure that assures public health and safety while promoting personal development and initiative; and
- Where all members take social responsibility and actively participate in decision making affecting growth, development, regulation and enforcement; and
- In which people retain a closeness with and caring for each other individually and collectively while working together to accomplish community goals and preserve community traditions.

CITY OF GUSTAVUS, ALASKA RESOLUTION CY22-16

A RESOLUTION BY THE CITY OF GUSTAVUS APPOINTING ELECTION OFFICIALS FOR **THE 2022 MUNICIPAL ELECTION**

WHEREAS, the City of Gustavus Code of Ordinance 5.10.130 (b) requires that for each municipal election "Prior to each election, the clerk with the approval through a resolution of the council, shall appoint at least three (3) city voters as election officials/judges to be the election board at the designated polling place."; and,

WHEREAS, one election official shall be designated chair of the board. The election officials shall not be council members, candidates for office, or immediate relatives of candidates; and,

WHEREAS, if an appointed election official fails to appear and subscribe to the oath on election day or becomes incapacitated during the time of the election or the counting of the ballots, the remaining officials shall appoint a qualified voter to fill the vacancy; and,

WHEREAS, the City of Gustavus Council hereby authorizes the following qualified electors:				
Kim Ney	Chairperson/Official	Kathy Hocker	Election Official	
Bre Ohlson	Election Official	Jake Ohlson	Election Official	
Jai Crapella	Election Official	Dawn Walker	Election Official	
Melanie Berg	Election Official	Shelley Owens	Election Official	

WHEREAS, the clerk may appoint as many election officials as needed to conduct an orderly election and to relieve the election officials of undue hardship.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Gustavus City Council approves these electors as the 2022 Municipal Election Officials:

PASSED and **APPROVED** by the Gustavus City Council this 19th day of September, 2022, and effective upon adoption.

Mike Taylor, May

Attest: Karen Platt CMC, City Clerk

CITY OF GUSTAVUS, ALASKA RESOLUTION CY22-16 - AMENDED

A RESOLUTION BY THE CITY OF GUSTAVUS APPOINTING ELECTION OFFICIALS FOR THE 2022 MUNICIPAL ELECTION

WHEREAS, the City of Gustavus Code of Ordinance 5.10.130 (b) requires that for each municipal election "Prior to each election, the clerk with the approval through a resolution of the council, shall appoint at least three (3) city voters as election officials/judges to be the election board at the designated polling place."; and,

WHEREAS, one election official shall be designated chair of the board. The election officials shall not be council members, candidates for office, or immediate relatives of candidates; and,

WHEREAS, if an appointed election official fails to appear and subscribe to the oath on election day or becomes incapacitated during the time of the election or the counting of the ballots, the remaining officials shall appoint a qualified voter to fill the vacancy; and,

WHEREAS, the City of Gustavus Council hereby authorizes the following qualified electors:				
Kim Ney	Chairperson/Official	Kathy Hocker	Election Official	
Bre Ohlson	Election Official	Jake Ohlson	Election Official	
Jai Crapella	Election Official	Dawn Walker	Election Official	
Melanie Berg	Election Official	Shelley Owens	Election Official	

WHEREAS, the clerk may appoint as many election officials as needed to conduct an orderly election and to relieve the election officials of undue hardship.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Gustavus City Council approves these electors as the 2022 Municipal Election Officials:

AMENDMENT PASSED and **APPROVED** by the Gustavus City Council this ____th day of September, 2022, and effective upon adoption.

Mike Taylor, Mayor

Attest: Karen Platt CMC, City Clerk