Beautification Advisory Commission Lake Room – Grosse Pointe Woods Community Center 20025 Mack Plaza Dr., Grosse Pointe Woods Meeting – April 13, 2022 – 7:00 p.m.

Present: Arslanian, Casinelli, Jenelle Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart,

Wettstein **Excused:** Miller

Also Present: M. Koester Guest: Andrea Champagne

Call to Order: The Meeting was called to order by Chair, McCarthy at 7:02 p.m.

Minutes: The March 9, 2022 minutes were reviewed.

Motion by Casinelli, seconded by Dengel, to approve the March 9, 2022 minutes as presented.

Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

Treasurer's Report: Stewart presented the treasurers report.

Motion by Arslanian, seconded by Hage, to approve the treasurers report as presented.

Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

Chairperson's Report: McCarthy presented the Chairperson's report. Check has cleared for the 2022 renewal to the Southeast Michigan Beautification Commission (SEMBC). Romano and Casinelli updated committee on the Southeast Michigan Beautification Commission (SEMBC) event attended.

Awards Program: Wettstein and Casinelli updated committee members on Awards Night Ceremony. Assumption Cultural Center is available to host this year's event. A \$500 nonrefundable deposit is recommended. Members will be receiving area assignments and criteria within the next two weeks. Business and residential nominations must be submitted by June 30, 2022.

Motion by Hage, seconded by Wettstein for the Assumption Cultural Center venue to hold and cater the 2022 Awards Night Ceremony.

Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

Motion by Casinelli, seconded by Romano, for the immediate certification of the previous motion for the Assumption Cultural Center venue to hold and cater the 2022 Awards Night Ceremony.

Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

Flower Sale: Arslanian and R. Koester updated the committee on the flower sale progress. There will be two deliveries on May 4th, first delivery by noon. The same truck will then return with the second delivery. Preorders of \$250 or more will be delivered by Committee Members to resident's home on May 4, 2022.

Council Report: M. Koester presented council report.

Old Business: McCarthy provided update on newly assigned Beautification Advisory Commission roles.

Motion by Casinelli, seconded by Dengel to approve the following officers for the 2022 term.

Chair: Debbie McCarthy Vice Chair: Rachelle Koester

Recording Secretary: Jenelle Dellario Corresponding Secretary: Mary Casinelli

Treasurer: Marlin Stewart

Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

New Business/Public Comment: McCarthy shared biographical sketch received from Andrea Champagne.

Motion by R. Koester, seconded by Casinelli, to recommend the Mayoral appointment of Andrea Champagne to the Beautification Advisory Commission.

Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

Motion by Wettstein, seconded by R. Koester, to recommend to the Mayor the immediate certification of the previous motion of the Mayoral appointment of Andrea Champagne to the Beautification Advisory Commission. Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

Motion by Steward, seconded by Dengel, to adjourn the Beautification Advisory Commission meeting at 8:26 p.m.

Motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Arslanian, Casinelli, Dellario, Dengel, Hage, R. Koester, McCarthy, Romano, Snyder, Stewart, Wettstein

No: none Excused: Miller

Respectfully submitted, Jenelle Dellario