

THE CITY OF FROSTBURG Mayor and Council Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, June 18, 2024 at 5:30 PM

Frostburg Municipal Center Meeting Room 100 37 S. Broadway, Frostburg, MD 21532

Mayor W. Robert Flanigan

Donald L. Carter, Jr., Commissioner of Finance Nina Forsythe, Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Kevin G. Grove, Commissioner of Public Safety Adam Ritchey, Commissioner of Public Works

1. Call to Order

Mayor Flanigan called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm.

- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Frostburg Blessing
- 4. Roll Call

PRESENT Mayor W. Robert Flanigan Commissioner of Public Safety Kevin Grove Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Nina Forsythe Commissioner of Public Works Adam Ritchey

ABSENT Commissioner of Finance Donald Carter

5. Approval of the Agenda

Motion made by Commissioner of Public Safety Grove, Seconded by Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Forsythe. Motion carried.

6. Approval of the Minutes

Motion made by Commissioner of Public Works Ritchey, Seconded by Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Forsythe. Motion carried.

A. Minutes from the May Mayor and Council Meeting.

Motion and Second to Approve the Minutes for the May Mayor and Council Meeting.

7. Special Presentations and Requests

8. Mayor and Commissioners Reports and Announcements

A. Monthly Reports of the City Departments.

Motion and Second to Approve Monthly Reports of the City Departments; Vote of the Mayor and City Council.

Motion made by Commissioner of Public Safety Grove, Seconded by Commissioner of Public Works Ritchey. Motion carried.

9. Public Hearings

A. Combined Sewer Overflow Monthly Public Hearing

10. Old Business

11. New Business

A. RESOLUTION 2024-31 Approve FY 2024 Year End Budget Amendments. Elaine Jones, CPA, Director of Finance

Motion and Second to Approve Resolution 2024-31; PUBLIC COMMENT; Vote of the Mayor and City Council.

Motion made by Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Forsythe, Seconded by Commissioner of Public Safety Grove. Motion carried.

B. RESOLUTION 2024-32 Authorize purchase of a new Pump (Pump #4) for Piney Dam Pumping Station. Hayden Lindsey, Director of Public Works

Motion and Second to Approve Resolution 2024-32; PUBLIC COMMENT; Vote of the Mayor and City Council.

Motion made by Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Forsythe, Seconded by Commissioner of Public Safety Grove. Motion carried.

C. RESOLUTION 2024-33 Authorize Change Order No. 3 and No. 4 for Frostburg Childcare Center, Daystar Builders for contract time extension and for a fire rated door as required by the State Fire Marshal, Hayden Lindsey, Director of Public Works

Motion and Second to Approve Resolution 2024-33; PUBLIC COMMENT; Vote of the Mayor and City Council.

Motion made by Commissioner of Public Works Ritchey, Seconded by Commissioner of Public Safetv Grove.

Motion carried.

D. RESOLUTION 2024-34 Approve Allegany County Hazard Mitigation Plan. Hayden Lindsey, Director of Public Works

Motion and Second to Approve Resolution 2024-34; PUBLIC COMMENT; Vote of the Mayor and City Council.

Motion made by Commissioner of Public Safety Grove, Seconded by Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Forsythe. Motion Carried.

E. RESOLUTION 2024-35 Approve Temporary Repeal of the Open Container Law for the Lemonade Crawl. Nick Costello, Chief of Police

Motion and Second to Approve Resolution 2024-35; PUBLIC COMMENT; Vote of the Mayor and City Council.

Motion made by Commissioner of Public Safety Grove, Seconded by Commissioner of Public Works Ritchey. Motion Carried.

F. Results from the 2024 Election, as submitted by Elizabeth Stahlman, City Administrator.

To be entered into the Minutes of the June 2024 Mayor and Council Meeting Minutes per City Charter Section 606.

CITY OF FROSTBURG | MUNICIPAL ELECTION

OFFICIAL RESULTS

The Frostburg Board certified the results of the Frostburg Municipal Election at 11:05 am on June 14, 2024.

Mayor

W. Robert Flanigan	604
Todd J. Logsdon	692
Commissioner of Finance	
Donny Carter	991
Commissioner of Public Safety	,
Kevin G. Grove	1,072
Commissioner of Public Works	5

Adam Ritchey

1,060

Commissioner of Water, Parks, and Recreation

Nina Forsythe

1,054

VOTER TURNOUT: 32.7%

Ballots cast by mail 72.4%

Ballots cast by delivery box 27.6%

Frostburg Board of Elections: Catherine Davis, Chair; Dawn Howell; Mary Anne Lutz

City Administrator: Elizabeth Stahlman

12. Report of the Frostburg Police Department

Chief Nicholas Costello

13. Open Public Comment

The Commissioners offered remarks and words of appreciation to Mayor Flanigan for his service to the City.

Mayor-elect Todd Logsdon offered remarks.

14. Adjournment

Mayor Flanigan adjourned the meeting at 5:49 pm.

Mayor Todd J. Logsdon

Elizabeth Stahlman, City Administrator