# DAWSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS WORK SESSION MINUTES – DECEMBER 1, 2022 DAWSON COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER ASSEMBLY ROOM 25 JUSTICE WAY, DAWSONVILLE, GEORGIA 30534 4:00 PM

Those present were Chairman Billy Thurmond; Commissioner Sharon Fausett, District 1; Commissioner Chris Gaines, District 2; Commissioner Tim Satterfield, District 3; Commissioner Emory Dooley, District 4; Interim County Manager Vickie Neikirk; County Attorney Angela Davis; County Clerk Kristen Cloud; and interested citizens of Dawson County.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

- 1. Presentation of Request to Retire Sheriff's Office K9 Robby- Sheriff Jeff Johnson *This item will be added to the December 1, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.*
- 2. Presentation of Request to Set Budget for Radio System Upgrade Construction Services RFP- Sheriff's Office Chief Deputy Major Greg Rowan *This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.*
- 3. Presentation of Request for Approval of FY 2023 State Public Defender Contract- Public Defender Brad Morris / Assistant Public Defender Sarah Willis *This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.*
- 4. Presentation of Request for Approval of FY 2023 Public Defender Intergovernmental Agreement Between Dawson and Hall Counties- Public Defender Brad Morris / Assistant Public Defender Sarah Willis This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.
- 5. Presentation of Request to Use Remaining Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax VI Funds- Emergency Services Director Troy Leist This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.
- 6. Presentation of FY 2023 Department of Human Services / Deanna Specialty Transportation Contract- Senior Services Director Dawn Johnson

  This item will be added to the December 1, 2022, Voting Session Agenda. Senior Services Director Dawn Johnson announced that Dawson County Transit received the Georgia Department of Transportation Frank J. Hill Award for Excellence in Rural Public Transportation.
- 7. Presentation of Annual Capital Improvements Element Update Adoption- Planning & Development Director Sharon Farrell

  This item will be added to the December 1, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.
- 8. Presentation of Veterans Memorial Park Pool Maintenance and Repair- Parks & Recreation Director Matt Payne

  This item will be added to the December 1, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.

- 9. Presentation of IFB #411-22 Rock Creek Park Ballfields Renovation- Parks & Recreation Director Matt Payne / Purchasing Manager Melissa Hawk *This item will be added to the December 1, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.*
- 10. Presentation of RFP #408-22 A & E Services for an Emergency 9-1-1 / Emergency Operations Center Building- Purchasing Manager Melissa Hawk *This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.*
- 11. Presentation of Renewal of Recycling Contract for FY 2023 with Waste Management-Interim County Manager Vickie Neikirk / Purchasing Manager Melissa Hawk This item will be added to the December 1, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.
- 12. Presentation of Proposed Changes to the Dawson County Employee Handbook Concerning Merit and Longevity Adjustments for Employee Evaluations- Commissioner Tim Satterfield

This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.

13. Presentation of 2023 Board of Commissioners Vice Chair Appointment- Chairman Billy Thurmond

This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.

14. Presentation of Board Appointments:

## a. Development Authority

- i. Brian Trapnell- reappointment (Term: January 2023 through December 2026)
- ii. Carroll Turner- reappointment (Term: January 2023 through December 2026)
- iii. Lynn Jackson- *replacing Tara Hardwick* (Term: January 2023 through December 2026)

# **b.** Joint Development Authority

- i. Mandy Power- reappointment (Term: January 2023 through December 2026)
- ii. Carroll Turner- reappointment (Term: January 2023 through December 2026)
- iii. Kevin Herrit- *replacing John Drew* (Term: January 2023 through December 2026)

# c. Planning Commission

- i. Steve Sanvi (Chairman Appointee)- *reappointment* (Term: January 2023 through December 2024)
- ii. Jason Hamby (District 1)- *reappointment* (Term: January 2023 through December 2024)
- iii. John Maloney (District 2)- *reappointment* (Term: January 2023 through December 2024)
- iv. Shelton Townley (District 3)- *replacing Tim Bennett* (Term: January 2023 through December 2024)
- v. Neil Hornsey (District 4)- *reappointment* (Term: January 2023 through December 2024)

### d. Tax Assessors

i. Jo Ann Overstreet Hause- *reappointment* (Term: January 2023 through December 2027)

This item will be placed on the December 15, 2022, Voting Session Agenda.

This item was for information only.

16. County Attorney Report
 County Attorney Davis had no information to report and requested an Executive Session.

APPROVE:

Billy Thurmond, Chairman

Kristen Cloud, County Clerk

15. County Manager Report