# DAWSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS VOTING SESSION MINUTES – JULY 3, 2018 DAWSON COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER ASSEMBLY ROOM 25 JUSTICE WAY, DAWSONVILLE 6:00PM

**ROLL CALL:** Those present were Chairman Thurmond; Commissioner Fausett, District 1; Commissioner Gaines, District 2; Commissioner Hamby, District 3; Commissioner Nix, District 4; County Attorney Frey; County Clerk Cloud; and interested citizens of Dawson County. County Manager Headley was not present.

#### **OPENING PRESENTATION:**

Tourism Update- Christie Haynes Moore, Chamber of Commerce President

**INVOCATION:** Chairman Thurmond

**PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:** Chairman Thurmond

## **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

Chairman Thurmond announced that county offices would be closed July 4, 2018, in observance of Independence Day.

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

Motion passed unanimously to approve the minutes from the Voting Session held on June 21, 2018. Fausett/Gaines

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA:**

Motion passed unanimously to approve the agenda as presented. Hamby/Nix

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

John Stewart, Dawsonville, Georgia- Spoke about his concerns related to the Chestatee development's master plan and statements he said were made by ZA 18-02 applicant Brian Ferris at the June 21, 2018, Voting Session, particularly regarding architectural asphalt roofing in the Chestatee development.

Hugh Stowers Jr., Dawsonville, Georgia- Spoke about the need to improve road design and safety, the need to avoid too much density and the need for better access to internet for a number of reasons.

Ethan Underwood, Cumming, Georgia- Spoke in favor of ZA 18-02.

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS:**

<u>Consideration of ZA 18-02 (Tabled from the June 21, 2018, Voting Session)</u> Motion passed unanimously to deny ZA 18-02. Hamby/Gaines

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

<u>Consideration of Request to Purchase Radar and Laser Units and Transfer Ownership to</u> <u>Georgia State Patrol</u>

> Page 1 of 3 Minutes 07-03-18

Motion passed unanimously to approve the Request to Purchase Radar and Laser Units and Transfer Ownership to Georgia State Patrol. The two radar units and two laser units will cost \$8,890, money which will come from contingency funds. Nix/Fausett

# Consideration of Request to Write Off Personal Property Bills

Motion passed unanimously to approve the Request to Write Off Personal Property Bills totaling \$73,237.36. Fausett/Nix

### Consideration of Request for 2018 Fire Hydrants Purchase

Motion passed unanimously to approve the Request for 2018 Fire Hydrants Purchase. The 16 hydrants will cost \$55,440, money which will come from Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax VI funds. Hamby/Gaines

# Consideration of Request to Appoint Lucas Ray as Interim Emergency Management Agency Director

Motion passed unanimously to Appoint Emergency Services Director Danny Thompson as Interim Emergency Management Agency Director. Hamby/Nix

# Consideration of FY 2019 Legacy Link Contract

Motion passed unanimously to approve the FY 2019 Legacy Link Contract. Fausett/Hamby

# <u>Consideration of 2018 Title VI Plan for Dawson County Transit / Georgia Department of Transportation</u>

Motion passed unanimously to approve the 2018 Title VI Plan for Dawson County Transit / Georgia Department of Transportation. Nix/Gaines

# Consideration of Board Appointments:

- Library Board
  - Kathryn Reagan Smith- replacing Ragin Hause (Term: July 2018 through June 2022)
  - o Gail Smith- replacing Lori VanSickle (Term: July 2018 through June 2019)
- *Industrial Building Authority* 
  - o Brian Trapnell- reappointment (Term: July 2018 through June 2021)
- *Joint Development Authority* 
  - o Brian Trapnell- replacing Charlie Auvermann (Term: July 2018 through December 2019)
  - Christie Haynes Moore- replacing Mary Simmons (Term: July 2018 through December 2018)

Motion passed unanimously to approve the listed appointments for the Library Board, Industrial Building Authority and Joint Development Authority. Gaines/Fausett

# **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

None

# **ADJOURNMENT:**

APPROVE:	ATTEST:
Billy Thurmond, Chairman	Kristen Cloud, County Clerk