

## **CITY COUNCIL AGENDA**

Monday, May 13, 2024 at 12:00 PM

City Hall – Council Chambers, 200 North Fifth, Crockett, TX 75835

Dr. lanthia Fisher, Mayor

Dennis Ivey, Council Member Darrell Jones, Council Member Ernest Jackson, Council Member Marquita Beasley, Council Member Mike Marsh, Mayor Pro Tem John Angerstein, City Administrator Mitzi Stefka, City Secretary William Pemberton, City Attorney Clayton Smith, Police Chief Jason Frizzell, Fire Chief

Notice is hereby given of a meeting of the City Council of Crockett to be held on **MONDAY, MAY 13, 2024 at** <u>12:00</u> <u>PM</u> at City Hall – Council Chambers, 200 North Fifth, Crockett, Texas, for the purpose of considering the following agenda items. All agenda items are subject to action.

#### OPEN MEETING WITH INVOCATION AND PLEDGE

#### **RECOGNITION OF VISITORS**

**COMMENTS FROM AUDIENCE OR COUNCIL** (At this time, anyone will be allowed to speak on City related matters only; no personal matters or matters under litigation will be allowed. The length of time may not exceed three (3) minutes. NO Council discussion or action may take place on a matter until such matter has been placed on an agenda and posted in accordance with law.)

#### BUSINESS

- 1. CANVASS ELECTION RETURNS
- 2. ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE TO COUNCIL MEMBERS

#### ADJOURNMENT

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, the City of Crockett will provide for reasonable accommodations for persons attending City Council meetings. To better serve you, requests should be received 24 hours prior to the meetings. Please contact Mitzi Stefka, City Secretary, at 936-544-5156.

#### CERTIFICATION

I certify that a copy of the May 13, 2024 agenda of items to be considered by the Crockett City Council was posted for viewing at Crockett City Hall on May 9, 2024 at 4:00 PM.

Mitzi Stefka, City Secretary

I certify that the agenda items to be considered by the City Council was removed from the City Hall window on the \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 2024. \_\_\_\_\_ Title \_\_\_\_\_



#### RESOLUTION NO. R-05-24

#### RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS AND DECLARING RESULTS OF REGULAR CITY COMMISSIONER ELECTION FOR PRECINCT THREE, FOUR AND FIVE HELD ON MAY 4, 2024

**WHEREAS**, under and by virtue of the Resolution duly passed by the City Council of the City of Crockett, Texas on February 5, 2024, calling for the regular election of City Council members for Precinct Three, Precinct Four and Precinct Five, such election being held on May 4, 2024; and,

WHEREAS, upon consideration of the returns of said election, it appears that the same was in all respects legally held; that due notice had been given; that returns thereof were duly and legally made; and that there were cast at said election:

		Early Votes	Ballot by Mail	Election Day	Total
Pct. 3	Ernest Jackson	23	5	8	36
	NaTrenia Hicks	101	51	42	194
Pct. 4	Elbert Johnson	54	20	13	87
	Marquita Beasley	38	6	7	51
Pct. 5	Mike Marsh	83	5	50	138
	Lynda Warfield	57	8	10	75

# NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CROCKETT, TEXAS:

**SECTION 1:** AND IT APPEARING to the City Council of the City of Crockett, Texas that <u>NaTrenia Hicks</u> received a majority of the votes for City Council member of Precinct Three, <u>Elbert Johnson</u> received a majority of the votes for City Council member of Precinct Four and <u>Mike Marsh</u> received a majority of the votes for City Council member of Precinct Five of the City of Crockett; and they are therefore duly elected.

**SECTION 2:** THAT THE AFORESAID ELECTION was duly and legally called and notice thereof given in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas and the resolution calling said election; that said election was held in strict conformity with the Constitution and laws of the State of Texas; and the returns thereof have been properly made to the officials of the City entitled to receive same; and that only qualified voters of the City were permitted to vote at said election, and properly represents the desires of those qualified to vote as aforesaid.

### PASSED AND APPROVED this the 13<sup>th</sup> day of May 2024.

Dr. lanthia Fisher, Mayor City of Crockett

ATTEST:

Mitzi Stefka, City Secretary