

EMS DIVISION SUBSIDIARY COMMITTEE MEETING

THURSDAY, JANUARY 12, 2024 – 1:30 PM

LOMA LINDA EOC – 25541 BARTON RD. LOMA LINDA

MINUTES

EMS DIVISION SUBSIDIARY COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Apple Valley Fire Protection District – B.C. Matthew Dowland Chino Valley Independent Fire District – Chief Dave Williams Colton Fire Department – Fire Marshall Ray Bruno Loma Linda Fire Department – B.C. Jeff Gillette Montclair Fire Department – Assistant Fire Chief Ryon Dierck Ontario Fire Department – Chief Mike Gerken Rancho Cucamonga Fire District – Chief Augie Barreda Redlands Fire Department – EMS Coordinator Carly Cripe Rialto Fire Department – Chief Brian Park San Bernardino County Fire District – Chief Joe Barna Victorville Fire Department – EMS Manager Steve Casarez City of Yucaipa – Chief Grant Malinowski

CALL TO ORDER

a. Flag Salute b. Roll call/Introductions

PUBLIC COMMENT

An opportunity provided for persons in the audience to make brief statements to the EMS Division Subsidiary Committee. (Limited to 30 minutes; 3 minutes allotted for each speaker)

INFORMATION RELATIVE TO POSSIBLE CONFLICT OF INTEREST

Agenda items may require committee member abstentions due to conflict of interests and financial interests. EMS Division Subsidiary Committee member abstentions shall be stated under this item for recordation on the appropriate item. *No conflicts were announced.*

CONSENT ITEMS

The following items are considered routine and non-controversial and will be voted upon at one time by the EMS Division Subsidiary Committee. An item may be removed by a Committee Member or member of the public for discussion and appropriate action. *No consent items.*

CHAIR REPORT

None

OLD BUSINESS

None

NEW BUSINESS

- 1. Introduction of Committee members Art Andres DISCUSSION ITEM
 - a. Introduction of Committee Members
 - b. Brown Act covered entity
 - c. Quorum is 2/3 of membership. 12 Agencies total 8 present to take action.
- 2. Committee Overview/Purpose Dean Smith **DISCUSSION ITEM**
 - a. Steering Committee to Administrative Chiefs Committee to serve as a steering committee for administration, operations, policy, procedures and logistics of the EMS Division.
- 3. CONFIRE Administrative Committee Policy 6.002, revised 7.25.2023 Dean Smith DISCUSSION ITEM
- 4. Ambulance transportation transition **DISCUSSION ITEM**
 - a. Implementation team Dean Smith/Ray Gayk
- 5. Governance Model Art Andres ACTION ITEM He/She shall serve a one (1) year term as Chairperson/Vice-Chairperson and shall be elected to that position annually by the members of the EMS Division Subsidiary Committee.
 - a. Elect Chair
 - b. Elect Vice-Chair

Motion to elect Chief Joe Barna as EMS Division Subsidiary Committee Chairperson.

Motion by: Chief Brian Park Second by: Chief Augie Barreda Yes - 12 No - 0 Abstain - 0 Absent – 0 Motion to elect Chief Mike Gerkin as EMS Division Subsidiary Committee Vice-Chairperson.

```
Motion by: Chief Augie Barreda
Second by: Chief Dave Williams
Yes - 12
No - 0
Abstain - 0
Absent - 0
```

- 6. Establish regular meeting dates and time Art Andres **Discussion item** *Second Tuesday of each month from 1:00 3:00 p.m.*
- 7. Establish Priorities Art Andres DISCUSSION ITEM
 - a. Authority & Purpose
 - 1. Short term budget
 - Develop policies
 *Restocking supplies
- 8. Consultant Agreements Art Andres ACTION ITEM
 - a. Ray Gayk
 - b. Dean Smith

Motion to move the Independent Contractor Agreement between CONFIRE and Cardo Consulting Inc. to the Administrative Committee for approval.

No action was taken on Consultant Agreement for Dean Smith.

Motion by:	Chief Augie Barreda
Second by:	Chief Mike Gerkin
Yes - 12	
No - 0	
Abstain - O	
Absent – 0	

9. Update on Partnership with CONFIRE EMS Mobile Health & SBCoFD – Dean Smith – **DISCUSSION ITEM**

ROUND TABLE

None

CLOSED SESSION

None

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the EMS Division Subsidiary Committee Meeting

The meeting adjourned at 3:17 p.m.

Upcoming Meetings:

Next Regular Meeting: February 13, 2024 @ 1:00 p.m.

/s/ Liz Berry Liz Berry Administrative Secretary I