

TOWN COUNCIL WORK SESSION

Tuesday, July 16, 2024 at 7:00 PM Bristol Town Hall Council Chamber

MINUTES

CALL MEETING TO ORDER – Council President Jeff Beachy called the Council work session to order on Tuesday, July 16, 2024 at 7:01pm.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE was led by Marshal Steve Priem

ROLL CALL

Members present: Doug DeSmith, Dean Rentfrow, Cathy Burke, Gregg Tuholski, Jeff Beachy

Others in attendance: Town Manager Mike Yoder, Clerk-Treasurer Cathy Antonelli, Assistant Fire Chief Jim Hanes, Legal Counsel Alex Bowman, Town Marshal Steve Priem

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Legal Counsel Alex Bowman noted that the Council should formally appoint Steve Priem as the new Marshal. Jeff stated that he will add that as item 4.1 in the agenda before REPORTS. Cathy Antonelli requested that 5a be removed from the agenda. With that the agenda will stand as amended.

• Motion to appoint Steve Priem as the Town Marshal made by Dean Rentfrow, Seconded by Doug DeSmith. Voting Yea: Doug DeSmith, Dean Rentfrow, Cathy Burke, Greg Tuholski, Jeff Beachy. Motion carries.

REPORTS

TOWN MANAGER Mike Yoder

Mike introduced Jason Auvil, Zoning Administrator and Planning Manager of Elkhart County to speak to the new County Unified Development Ordinance No. 7/18/2024-15 Approving the Planning and Zoning Ordinance of the County of Elkhart, Indiana. Jason reviewed with the Council and discussion followed, including Special Purpose & Overlay Districts 158.04 (E). The County set up is broad and the Town can be more restrictive.

Alex verified the process. The standards are currently part of the overlay, for the Town to amend them they would go through the same process of Council adoption and then go to the BZA for approval.

- Motion to waive the second reading of the County Unified Development Ordinance No. 7/18/2024-15 and adopt on first reading made by Jeff Beachy, Seconded by Cathy Burke. Voting Yea: Doug DeSmith, Dean Rentfrow, Cathy Burke, Greg Tuholski, Jeff Beachy. Motion carries.
- Motion to enact on first reading made by Cathy Burke, Seconded by Dean Rentfrow. Voting Yea: Doug DeSmith, Dean Rentfrow, Cathy Burke, Greg Tuholski, Jeff Beachy. Motion carries.
- Jason Auvil took the signed Ordinance copies to the County to be signed off on.

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Motion to adjourn made by Cathy Burke, Seconded by Greg Tuholski.
Voting Yea: Doug DeSmith, Dean Rentfrow, Cathy Burke, Greg Tuholski, Jeff Beachy
Motion adjourned at 7:52pm

Jeff Beachy, Council President

Cathy Antonelli, Clerk-Treasurer