

Don Ryan Center for Innovation Board of Directors Meeting

Thursday, August 08, 2024 at 5:00 PM

The Don Ryan Center for Innovation, 7 Venture Drive, Suite #100, Bluffton, SC

AGENDA

- I. CALL TO ORDER
- II. ROLL CALL
- III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
 - 1. April 11, 2024 Minutes
- **IV. PUBLIC COMMENT**
- V. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE BOARD
- **VI. TREASURER'S REPORT**
- VII. NEW BUSINESS
 - 1. Board of Directors: New Ex Officio Discussion
 - 2. Buckwalter Childcare RFP
 - 3. Buckwalter Place Development Update

VIII. STAFF REPORT

- 1. Innovation Center Update
- IX. DISCUSSION
- X. ADJOURNMENT

NEXT MEETING DATE: THURSDAY, OCTOBER 10, 2024

"FOIA Compliance – Public notification of this meeting has been published and posted in compliance with the Freedom of Information Act and the Town of Bluffton policies."

In accordance with the requirements of Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 ("ADA"), the Town of Bluffton will not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities on the basis of disability in its services, programs, or activities. The Town of Bluffton Council Chambers are ADA compatible. Auditory accommodations are available. Any person requiring further accommodation should contact the Town of Bluffton ADA Coordinator at 843.706.4500 or adacoordinator@townofbluffton.com as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event.

Executive Session – The public body may vote to go into executive session for any item identified for action on the agenda.

Don Ryan Center for Innovation Board of Directors Meeting

The Don Ryan Center for Innovation, 7 Venture Drive, Suite #100, Bluffton, SC"

April 11, 2024

I. CALL TO ORDER

Davis called the meeting to order at 5:23pm

II. ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Chair Berl Davis

Director Jim Biggs

Director Michael Czymbor

Director Kevin Ryan

Director Larry Toomer

Director Walter Nester

Ex-Officio John O'Toole

Ex-Officio Rod Casavant

Ex-Officio Chris Trott

Ex-Officio Houssam Aboukhater

Ex-Officio Tom Henz

ABSENT

Vice Chair Matt Green

Director Bernie Traywick

Director Edward Taylor

Director Deborah Edmondson

Director Latoya Salters

Ex-Officio Lindsey Mueller

III. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Motion made by Director Nester, Seconded by Director Czymbor.

Voting Yea: Chair Davis, Director Biggs, Director Czymbor, Director Ryan, Director Toomer, Director Nester, Ex-Officio O'Toole, Ex-Officio Casavant, Ex-Officio Trott, Ex-Officio Aboukhater, Ex-Officio Henz

All were in favor and the motion passed.

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

December 14, 2023

Motion made by Director Czymbor, Seconded by Director Sulka.

Voting Yea: Chair Davis, Director Biggs, Director Czymbor, Director Ryan, Director Toomer, Director Nester, Ex-Officio O'Toole, Ex-Officio Casavant, Ex-Officio Trott, Ex-Officio Aboukhater, Ex-Officio Henz

All were in favor and the motion passed.

V. PUBLIC COMMENT

VI. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE BOARD

VII. TREASURER'S REPORT

Financials

990 Review

Marjorkiewicz presented the FY25 proposed budget. Czymbor made a motion to recommend to Town Council to approve the proposed FY 2025 support for the Don Ryan Center for Innovation as presented.

Motion made by Director Czymbor, Seconded by Director Nester.

Voting Yea: Chair Davis, Director Biggs, Director Czymbor, Director Ryan, Director Toomer, Director Nester, Ex-Officio O'Toole, Ex-Officio Casavant, Ex-Officio Trott, Ex-Officio Aboukhater, Ex-Officio Henz

VIII. OLD BUSINESS

- •Economic Development Incentive Plan Update
- Buckwalter Place Update

Staff discussed the Economic Development Incentive Plan, Buckwalter Place.

IX. STAFF REPORT

- •DRCI in the Community
- Company Updates
- Hardeeville Update

Staff presented DRCI in the community and an update on the contract with Hardeeville.

X. DISCUSSION

Henz asked about the mentor program and staff reported that there are currently 70 mentors at the DRCI.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Director Toomer, Seconded by Director Nester.

Voting Yea: Chair Davis, Director Biggs, Director Czymbor, Director Ryan, Director Toomer, Director Nester, Ex-Officio O'Toole, Ex-Officio Casavant, Ex-Officio Trott, Ex-Officio Aboukhater, Ex-Officio Henz

All were in favor and the motion passed.