Planning Commission

Theodore D. Washington Municipal Building, 20 Bridge Street, Henry "Emmett" McCracken Jr. Council Chambers

August 23, 2023

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Denmark called the meeting to order at 6:00pm.

II. ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Chairwoman Amanda Jackson Denmark Vice Chairman Charlie Wetmore Commissioner Jim Flynn Commissioner Lydia DePauw Commissioner Michael Brock

ABSENT

Commissioner Rich Delcore Commissioner Jason Stewart

III. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Vice Chairman Wetmore made a motion to adopt the agenda as written.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed.

IV. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1. July 26, 2023 Minutes

Commissioner Flynn made a motion to adopt the minutes as written.

Seconded by Commissioner DePauw. Voting Yea: Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock Voting Abstaining: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark

The motion passed.

V. PUBLIC COMMENTS FOR ITEMS NOT ON THE AGENDA*

VI. OLD BUSINESS

 Refuel (Certificate of Appropriateness - Highway Corridor Overlay): A Certificate of Appropriateness to permit the landscape, lighting and architecture for Refuel convenience store and gas station, located along SC Highway 46 across from the May River Xing intersection. It is zoned PUD within the New Riverside PUD and New Riverside Village Master Plan. (COFA-04-23-017905)(Staff - Katie Peterson) Staff presented. The applicant was in attendance. The Commission asked if the LED light fixtures were changed to a warm white light. The Commission discussed removing the brick off the dumpster and car wash.

Commissioner DePauw made a motion to approve the application with the following conditions:

- 1. All comments must be addressed, and a Final Development Plan must be approved prior to issuance to the Certificate of Appropriateness HCO.
- 2. Signage Permits must be submitted to the Town of Bluffton for review and approval for the signage proposed at each site in the proposed development.
- 3. The dumpster enclosure be all hardie board as it was in the June 28, 2023 submittal as it is an accessory structure.
- 4. The car wash building have no brick base to be secondary to the refuel building.
- 5. Additional information be provided to ensure the temperature of the lights on the building be warm white in tone.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed.

VII. NEW BUSINESS

1. Compass Commons at New Riverside Village (Development Plan): A request by Conor Blaney of Ward Edwards Engineering on behalf of Lee Lucier of The Richardson Group LLC for approval of a preliminary development plan application. The applicant proposes to develop 4 commercial buildings, totaling approximately 16,000 SF, and supporting infrastructure. The properties are zoned New Riverside Planned Unit Development and consists of approximately 2.77 acres identified by tax map numbers R610 036 000 3710 0000 and R610 036 000 3712 0000 located along Parkside Commons within the New Riverside Village Master Plan. (DP-05-23-018058) (Staff - Dan Frazier)

Staff presented. The applicant was in attendance. There was discussion about the buffer, parking and the presentation of the structure towards May River Road.

Commissioner Brock made a motion to approve the application as submitted.

Seconded by Vice Chairman Wetmore. Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed.

VIII. DISCUSSION

1. Workshop - Application Manual Update. (Staff - Kevin Icard)

Staff presented the current process for the Certificate of Appropriateness - Highway Corridor Overlay District application and discussed the proposed changes.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Brock made a motion to adjourn.

Seconded by Vice Chairman Wetmore.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the meeting ended at 6:27pm.