CITY OF BASTROP

BASTROP CITY COUNCIL CANVASS OF ELECTION AND SWEARING IN OF THE CANDIDATES

Thursday, June 12, 2025

The Bastrop City Council met in a Canvass of Election and Swearing In of the Candidates on Thursday, June 12, 2025, at 6:30 p.m. at the Bastrop City Hall Council Chambers, 1311 Chestnut Street, Bastrop, Texas, with the following action taken to wit:

Council Members Present

Staff Present

Mayor Pro-Tempore John KirklandCity Manager Sylvia Carrillo-TrevinoCouncil Member Cynthia MeyerAssistant City Manager Andres RosaleCouncil Member Kerry FosslerCity Secretary Michael MuscarelloCouncil Member Kevin PlunkettAssistant City Secretary Victoria PsenCouncil Member Perry LoweAssistant to City Manager Vivianna AMayor Elect Ishmael HarrisFinance Director Judy SandrussiHuman Resources Director Tanya Can
Main Street Manager Michaela JoyceCouncil Members AbsentAssistant Finance Director Laura Aller

Mayor Lyle Nelson * resigned 1/14/2025

Assistant City Manager Andres Rosales City Secretary Michael Muscarello Assistant City Secretary Victoria Psencik Assistant to City Manager Vivianna Andres Finance Director Judy Sandrussi Human Resources Director Tanya Cantrell Main Street Manager Michaela Joyce Assistant Finance Director Laura Allen Development Services Director James Cowey Police Chief Vicky Steffanic Water and Wastewater Director Curtis Hancock Public Information Officer Colin Guerra Fleet and Facilities Manager Doug Haggerty

1. CALL TO ORDER

With a quorum present, Mayor Pro-Tempore Kirkland called the Canvass of the Election and Swearing-In of the Candidates at 6:30 p.m.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE – United States of America and Texas Flags Crimson Johnson, Nyla Hall, and Gracie Rios led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. INVOCATION

Pastor Carlton Harris delivered the Invocation.

4. ELECTION RESULTS

4A. <u>Consider and act on Resolution No. R-2025-104, to canvass the results of the</u> June 7, 2025, Runoff Election for Bastrop Office of the Mayor.

Submitted by: Michael Muscarello, City Secretary

MOTION: Council Member Plunkett moved to approve Resolution No. R-2025-104 as presented. Council Member Lowe seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

At this time, Council Member Meyer presented a plaque to Mayor Pro-Tem Kirkland for his service as Acting Mayor on behalf of the City.

Mayor Pro-Tem Kirkland asked for any Citizen Comments, and none were submitted.

5. OATH OF OFFICE

Mayor-elect Ishmael Harris

<u>- Swearing Oath of Office by The Honorable Chris Duggan, State</u> <u>District Judge, District 423</u>

- Signature of Official Documents

- Welcome by the Council

- Comments by Mayor Ishmael Harris

Judge Chris Duggan performed the Statement of Elected Officer and Oath of Office for Mayor Ishmael Harris.

Mayor Pro-Tem Kirkland stated, per the Rule of Procedure, that whoever is the "chair" who calls to order the meeting must also be the "chair" who adjourns the meeting.

MOTION: Council Member Plunkett moved to suspend the rules of procedure to allow Mayor Harris to "chair" the rest of the meeting. Council Member Meyer seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

6. ADJOURNMENT

Upon receiving a motion duly made and seconded to adjourn, the June 12th Canvass of the Election and Swearing-In of the Candidates was adjourned at 6:43 p.m.

CITY OF BASTROP, TEXAS

Ishmael Harris, Mayor

ATTEST:

Victoria Psencik, Assistant City Secretary