

FINANCE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Commission Chamber Tuesday, August 13, 2024 1:20 PM

## **FINANCE**

PRESENT Mayor Garnett Johnson Commissioner Jordan Johnson Commissioner Wayne Guilfoyle Commissioner Francine Scott Commissioner Stacy Pulliam

1. Motion to approve the minutes of the Finance Committee held on July 30, 2024.

Motion to approve.

Motion made by Scott, Seconded by Pulliam. Voting Yea: Johnson, Guilfoyle, Scott, Pulliam

Motion carries 4-0.

2. Motion to approve resolution authorizing proceeding with the issuance by Augusta Georgia of its water and sewerage revenue bonds in order refund outstanding debt (Water and Sewer bonds, Series 2012 and 2014) of Augusta, Georgia relating to the water and sewerage system.

Motion to approve.

Motion made by Scott, Seconded by Pulliam. Voting Yea: Johnson, Guilfoyle, Scott, Pulliam

Motion carries 4-0.

3. Motion to approve scheduling a worksession with The Augusta Commission and the Local Legislative Delegation to discuss the Hotel Motel Tax.

Motion to approve.

Motion made by Scott, Seconded by Pulliam. Voting Yea: Johnson, Guilfoyle, Scott, Pulliam

Motion carries 4-0.

4. Require the Mayor to use the Credit Card provided/issued by Augusta Richmond County Government with a monthly Credit line of \$15000.00 and not to exceed the Mayor's yearly budget. (**Requested by Commissioner Wayne Guilfoyle**)

Companion item with Item 5 - see motion under Item 5.

5. Discuss the Mayor's Office expense reimbursement process. (Referred from July 30 Finance Committee)

Motion to approve reimbursing the Mayor for his expenditures and to require the Mayor to use a city-issued credit card with a \$15,000 credit limit.

Motion made by Guilfoyle.

Motion dies for lack of a second.

Motion to approve referring this item back to the next Finance Committee meeting and tasking the Administrator, the Finance Director, the Procurement Director, a representative from the Law Department if necessary and a representative from the Mayor's Office to meet and come back with a resolution of the matter.

Motion made by Scott, Seconded by Pulliam.

Voting Aye: Johnson, Scott, Pulliam

Voting Present: Guilfoyle

Motion carries 3-1.